2016 VU Sport Awards nominations open

The VU Sport Awards celebrate and formally recognise outstanding sporting performance and service by individuals, teams and clubs across VU.

The Awards also congratulate students who excelled and represented the University championships and games. These include Australian University championships, World University Games, and major international championships including the Olympic and Paralympic Games.

VU's sporting Hall of Fame 2016 inductee will also be announced as part of the awards. The Victoria University Sport Hall of Fame includes:

  • Julie Corletto (netball)
  • John Butkiewicz (lacrosse)
  • Tony Dodemaide (cricket)
  • Brad Johnson (AFL)
  • Peter Thomson (golf)
  • Andrew Gaze (basketball)
  • Mike McKay (rowing)
  • Rebecca Sullivan (judo)
  • Larry Sengstock (basketball)
  • Campbell Rose (sailing)
  • Danny Morseu (basketball)
  • Rachael Dacy (pole vault).


Awards are offered across several different categories.

Individual awards

  • Blue
  • Half Blue
  • Club Service Award
  • Sports Person of the Year (male and female)
  • Academic and Sporting Excellence Award

Club and team awards

  • Sporting Club of the Year
  • Representative Sport Team of the Year


Nominations are now open and close on Friday 7 October.

To place a nomination, please complete the nomination form and return it by email to Scott Cashmere on [email protected].

Awards will be presented at the annual Sport Awards Night on Thursday 17 November at the Victoria University Convention Centre, Level 12 City Flinders campus.

See all news