If you have an issue or concern related to research involving VU, please contact a Research Integrity Advisor (RIA). RIAs are experienced VU researchers who have volunteered to provide confidential and independent advice to students, staff and people outside VU who are concerned about research involving VU.

A RIA can assist by helping you to clarify any issues impacting on your research and assist you in making an informed decision about how to proceed.

Role of a Research Integrity Advisor

A Research Integrity Advisor can:

  • provide confidential and independent advice
  • help you identify and clarify the issues based on areas of research conduct, principles and values of responsible research, and/or other issues impacting on, or directly connected to research
  • provide information to help you make an informed decision about your options/how to proceed
  • provide a limited personal opinion on the advantages and disadvantages of adopting a particular course of action and/or the options available.

Beyond this a RIA cannot take any further action or role in the matter.

A Research Integrity Advisor cannot:

  • act as an advocate, represent or promote your interests
  • provide advice as to the likely outcome, or how you must proceed
  • express an opinion on behalf of VU or any other person
  • investigate the matter, or take any steps to obtain further information about the facts or issues
  • make a complaint or take any action on your behalf
  • solve the problem for you.

You do not have to identify yourself, and can be assured that all communications with a RIA will remain confidential. A RIAs obligation to maintain confidentiality is ongoing and continues after the completion of the matter.

Contact an RIA

Dr Nick Billington
+61 3 9919 1076 | nick.billington@vu.edu.au

Professor Mikel Duke
+61 3 9919 7682 | mikel.duke@vu.edu.au

Associate Professor Dianne Hall
+61 3 9919 2778 | dianne.hall@vu.edu.au

Dr Selvi Kannan
+61 3 9919 5374 | selvi.kannan@vu.edu.au

Associate Professor Michael Mathai
+61 3 9919 2211 | michael.mathai@vu.edu.au

Professor John Orbell
+61 3 9919 8066 | john.orbell@vu.edu.au

Dr Gabriella Pretto
+61 3 9919 5549 | gabriella.pretto@vu.edu.au

Associate Professor Mark Vicars
+61 3 9919 2052 | mark.vicars@vu.edu.au