College staff

Find contact details below for staff in the College of Engineering & Science. Staff are listed in discipline groups.

The key contacts are:

Leadership team

Contact details for the College of Engineering & Science Leadership team staff
Name Contact details
Professor Chris Perera
Dean, College of Engineering & Science
+61 3 9919 8598
chris.perera@vu.edu.au
Dr Randall Robinson
Director, Research
+61 3 9919 2885
randall.robinson@vu.edu.au
Professor Stephen Collins
Director, Research Training
+61 3 9919 4283
stephen.collins@vu.edu.au
Dr Cagil Ozansoy
Assistant Director Research and Research Training
+61 3 9919 5046
cagil.ozansoy@vu.edu.au
Dr Alasdair McAndrew
Director of Learning & Teaching (Operations)
+61 3 9919 4344
alasdair.mcandrew@vu.edu.au
Associate Professor Andrew Smallridge
Director, Teaching and Learning (Course Quality)
+61 3 9919 4758
andrew.smallridge@vu.edu.au
Professor Stephen Gray
Director, Institute of Sustainability and Innovation (ISI)
+61 3 9919 8097
stephen.gray@vu.edu.au
Professor Yanchun Zhang
Director, Centre for Applied Informatics (CAI)
+61 3 9919 5060
yanchun.zhang@vu.edu.au
Professor Vasily Novozhilov
Director (Acting), Centre for Environmental Safety and Risk Engineering (CESARE)
+61 3 9919 8612
vasily.novozhilov@vu.edu.au
Professor Akhtar Kalam
Head of Discipline, Engineering
+61 3 9919 5504
akhtar.kalam@vu.edu.au
Professor Yuan Miao
Head of Discipline, Information Technology
+61 3 9919 4605
yuan.miao@vu.edu.au
Dr Joshua Johnson
Head of Discipline, Science
+61 3 9919 8279
engsci.science@vu.edu.au

Engineering

Professor Akhtar Kalam, Head of Discipline, Engineering
+61 3 9919 5504 | akhtar.kalam@vu.edu.au

Architectural & building engineering

Contact details for the Architectural & building engineering discipline group staff.
Name Contact details
Dr Zora Vrcelj
Associate Professor
+61 3 9919 4459
zora.vrcelj@vu.edu.au
Sam Kashuk
Academic Teaching Scholar, Course Coordinator: Bachelor of Engineering (Architectural), Bachelor of Building and Building Surveying
+61 3 9919 9104
sam.kashuk@vu.edu.au
David Caruana
Academic Teaching Scholar
+61 3 9919 8399
david.caruana@vu.edu.au
Dr Dimuth Navaratna
Senior Lecturer, Course Coordinator: Bachelor of Building (Construction Management)
+61 3 9919 5554
dimuth.navaratna@vu.edu.au
Vinayaga Sarma
Course coordinator: Graduate Certificate/Graduate Diploma/Master of Engineering (Project Management)
+61 3 9919 4714
vinayaga.sarma@vu.edu.au
engsci.masters.pm@vu.edu.au
Dr Graham Thorpe
Professor
+61 3 9919 4964
graham.thorpe@vu.edu.au
Christopher Adam
Adjunct Associate Professor
 
Ian Campbell
Honorary Fellow
 
Michael Jackson
Adjunct Associate Professor
 

Civil engineering

Contact details for the Civil engineering discipline group staff.
Name Contact details
Dr Sam Fragomeni
Professor
+61 3 9919 5212
sam.fragomeni@vu.edu.au
Peter Lechte
Senior Lecturer
+61 3 9919 4438
peter.lechte@vu.edu.au
Dr Qing Liang
Associate Professor
+61 3 9919 4134
qing.liang@vu.edu.au
Dr Shobha Muthukumaran
Senior Lecturer
+61 3 9919 4859
shobha.muthukumaran@vu.edu.au
Dr Nitin Muttil
Senior Lecturer
+61 3 9919 4251
nitin.muttil@vu.edu.au
Dr Anne Ng
Senior Lecturer
+61 3 9919 5507
anne.ng@vu.edu.au
Dr Anthony Parker
Senior Lecturer; Course coordinator: Bachelor of Engineering (Civil Engineering)
+61 3 9919 4321
engsci.civil.eng@vu.edu.au
Dr Ashok Sharma
Associate Professor Water Resources
+61 3 9919 4519
ashok.sharma@vu.edu.au
Dr Rudi VanStaden
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 4795
rudi.vanstaden@vu.edu.au
Dr Vincent Wang
Senior Lecturer, Civil Engineering
+61 3 9919 9453
vincent.wang@vu.edu.au
Mark Bismark
Adjunct Associate Professor
 

Electrical & electronic engineering

Contact details for the Electrical and electronic engineering discipline group staff.
Name Contact details
John Chlond
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 4701
john.chlond@vu.edu.au
Professor Stephen Collins
Professor and Director Research Training
+61 3 9919 4283 stephen.collins@vu.edu.au
Dr Mike Faulkner
Professor
+61 3 9919 4254
mike.faulkner@vu.edu.au
Dr Horace King
Senior Lecturer, Course coordinator: Master of Engineering
+61 3 9919 4696
horace.king@vu.edu.au
Dr Daniel Lai
Senior Lecturer, Course coordinator: Bachelor of Engineering Science (Sports Engineering)
+61 3 9919 4425
daniel.lai@vu.edu.au
Valli Navaratnam
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 4991
valli.navaratnam@vu.edu.au
Dr Cagil Ozansoy
Senior Lecturer, First Year Champion: Engineering, Assistant Director Research and Research Training
+61 3 9919 5046
cagil.ozansoy@vu.edu.au
Associate Professor Juan Shi
Senior Lecturer, Women in Engineering Coordinator
+61 3 9919 4034
juan.shi@vu.edu.au
Professor Peng Shi +61 3 9919 6273
peng.shi@vu.edu.au
Dr Wee Sit Lee
Senior Lecturer
+61 3 9919 4053
weesit.lee@vu.edu.au
Professor Alan Hahn
Honorary Professor
 
Dr Aladin Zayegh
Associate Professor
+61 3 9919 4858
aladin.zayegh@vu.edu.au

Mechanical engineering

Contact details for the Mechanical engineering discipline group staff.
Name Contact details
Vincent Rouillard
Professor
+61 3 9919 4602
vincent.rouillard@vu.edu.au
Dr Lutfar Khan
Course Coordinator
+61 3 9919 4687
lutfar.khan@vu.edu.au
Dr Matthew Lamb
Senior Lecturer
+61 3 9919 5591
matthew.lamb@vu.edu.au
Dr Jun-de Li
Professor
+61 3 9919 4105
jun-de.li@vu.edu.au
Dr Michael Sek
Associate Professor
+61 3 9919 4205
michael.sek@vu.edu.au
Dr Leonard L. Koss
Adjunct Associate Professor
leonard.koss@vu.edu.au
Barbara Rinderer
Adjunct Fellow
barbara.rinderer@vu.edu.au
Dr Josef Rojter
Adjunct Fellow
josef.rojter@vu.edu.au
Dr Catherine Sullivan
Adjunct Fellow
catherine.sullivan@vu.edu.au
Dr Danh Tran
Adjunct Fellow
danh.tran@vu.edu.au

Information technology

Professor Yuan Miao, Head of Discipline, Information Technology
+61 3 9919 4605 | yuan.miao@vu.edu.au

Contact details for the Information technology discipline group staff.
Name Contact details
Professor Jing He +61 3 9919 4676
jing.he@vu.edu.au
Dr Gitesh Raikundalia
Senior Lecturer
+61 3 9919 4691
gitesh.raikundalia@vu.edu.au
Dr Jackie Rong
Lecturer, Course Coordinator: Master of Applied Information Technology
+61 3 9919 4248
jia.rong@vu.edu.au
Dr Hao Shi
Associate Professor and Course Coordinator: Bachelor of Information Technology (Network and Systems Computing)
+61 3 9919 4060
hao.shi@vu.edu.au
Dr Grace Tan
Senior Lecturer and First Year Champion
+61 3 9919 4685
grace.tan@vu.edu.au
Dr Anwaar Ulhaq
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 5005
anwaar.ulhaq@vu.edu.au
Professor Hong Xu
Research Professor
+61 3 9919 4426
hong.xu@vu.edu.au
Nalin Sharda
Adjunct Associate Professor
 
Jakub Szajman
Adjunct Fellow
 

Science

Dr Joshua Johnson, Head of Discipline, Science
+61 3 9919 8279 | engsci.science@vu.edu.au

Science

Contact details for the Science discipline group staff.
Name Contact details
Dr Stephen Bigger
Professor
+61 3 9919 2959 stephen.bigger@vu.edu.au
Dr Paul Boon
Professor
+61 3 9919 5954
paul.boon@vu.edu.au
Dr Domenico Caridi
Senior Lecturer, Course Coordinator Bachelor of Pharmaceutical and Health Science
+61 3 9919 8077
domenico.caridi@vu.edu.au
Dr Sandra McKechnie
Senior Lecturer and first year champion
+61 3 9919 8067
sandra.mckechnie@vu.edu.au
Dr Lawrence Ngeh
Senior Lecturer
+61 3 9919 8102
lawrence.ngeh@vu.edu.au
Dr John Orbell
Professor, Course Coordinator, Science Honours
+61 3 9919 8066
john.orbell@vu.edu.au
Dr Megan O'Shea
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 2129
megan.oshea@vu.edu.au
Dr Randall Robinson
Senior Lecturer, Director Research
+61 3 9919 2885
randall.robinson@vu.edu.au
Dr Andrew Smallridge
Associate Professor, Director Learning and Teaching (Course Quality)
+61 3 9919 4758
andrew.smallridge@vu.edu.au
Dr Thomas Yeager
Senior Lecturer, Course Coordinator, Science
+61 3 9919 8103
thomas.yeager@vu.edu.au
Mary Millikan
Adjunct Associate Professor
 
Dr Maurice Trewhella
Honorary Fellow
 
Mr MD Nazim Uddin
Adjunct Fellow
 

Mathematics & physics

Contact details for the Mathematics & physics discipline group staff.
Name Contact details
Dr Alasdair McAndrew
Senior Lecturer and Director Learning and Teaching (Operations)
+61 3 9919 4344
alasdair.mcandrew@vu.edu.au
Dr Greg Baxter
Professor
+61 3 9919 4576
gregory.baxter@vu.edu.au
Professor Stephen Collins
Professor and Director Research Training
+61 3 9919 4283
stephen.collins@vu.edu.au
Dr Andrew Cramond
Senior Lecturer, Course Coordinator: Bachelor of Engineering (Electrical & Electronic Engineering)
+61 3 9919 4276
andrew.cramond@vu.edu.au
Anthony Doggett
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 4697
anthony.doggett@vu.edu.au
Professor Silvestru Sever Dragomir
Professor
+61 3 9919 4437
sever.dragomir@vu.edu.au
Dr Fuchun Huang
Senior Lecturer
+61 3 9919 4431
fuchun.huang@vu.edu.au
Dr Thinh Nguyen
Associate Professor
+61 3 9919 4281
thinh.nguyen@vu.edu.au
Fotios Sidiroglou
Honorary Fellow
 

Foundation studies

Contact details for the College of Engineering & Science Foundation Studies staff
Name Contact details
Nick Athanasiou
Foundation Studies Coordinator
+61 3 9919 4233
nick.athanasiou@vu.edu.au
Stuart Balsillie
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 4233
stuart.balsillie@vu.edu.au
Vedran Gladovic
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 5253
vedran.gladovic@vu.edu.au
Simon Roberts
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 4682
simon.roberts@vu.edu.au
Gabriele Sorrentino
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 5227
gabriele.sorrentino@vu.edu.au

College support staff

Professional services

Contact details for the College of Engineering & Science professional services staff
Name Contact details
Natalie Glenton
College Manager
+61 3 9919 9298
natalie.glenton@vu.edu.au
Teresa Gaeta
Executive Officer to Chris Perera, College Dean
+61 3 9919 8598
teresa.gaeta@vu.edu.au
Luba Schnitzer
Senior Administrative Officer
+ 61 3 9919 5058
luba.schnitzer@vu.edu.au
Neha Noruthun
Senior Administrative Officer (Courses & Units)
+ 61 3 9919 2486
neha.noruthun@vu.edu.au
Joyce Nastasi
Administration Officer
joyce.nastasi@vu.edu.au

Financial services

Contact details for the College of Engineering & Science financial services staff
Name Contact details
Chuli Wirasinha
Business Manager
+61 3 9919 7712
chuli.wirasinha@vu.edu.au
Janette Francis
Senior Finance Officer
janette.francis@vu.edu.au

Research services

Contact details for the College of Engineering & Science research services staff
Name Contact details
Patrick Guay
Manager Research Facilitation and Development
+61 3 9919 2993
patrick.guay@vu.edu.au
Elizabeth Smith
Senior Officer (Graduate Research)
+ 61 3 9919 4228
elizabeth.smith@vu.edu.au

Industry & Community Liaison

Contact details for the College of Engineering & Science Industry & Community Liaison
Name Contact details
Lovelesh Ramsahye
Coordinator, Industry and Community Liaison
+61 3 9919 2175
lovelesh.ramsahye@vu.edu.au