Research funding team

The Research Funding Team works closely with Colleges, Institutes and Centres to enhance all research funding activities (internal and external).

About the team

In 2015 the Office for Research formed the Research Funding Team after merging the Research Grants Team and the Research Facilitation and Development Team.

The team manages research grant processes (pre- and post-award) through:

  • compliance checking
  • overseeing the peer review process
  • running internal EOI processes
  • acting as a contact point for funding agencies
  • preparing and executing grant funding agreements.

The Research funding team oversees research contract management by:

  • assisting with pricing of research projects
  • negotiating terms of research agreements with third parties
  • preparing and executing research agreements

Opportunity identification activities include:

  • identifying opportunities for contract research
  • research tender identification and bid coordination
  • attending networking events to create research opportunities

Intellectual Property and Commercialisation management.

Contact us

The following table outlines the key areas managed by the Research Funding Team and the contact for each:

Research area Research Funding Team contact
Grant applications all areas excluding ARC schemes David Garland (Grants only)
+61 3 9919 4955
david.garland@vu.edu.au
Grant applications for ARC Schemes Palmina Fichera
+61 3 9919 4707
palmina.fichera@vu.edu.au
Grants (Funded/Awarded) all areas for:
  • CRC Funding
  • Industry and International research funding
  • VU MRNWM-ML Legacy Grants Program.
Palmina Fichera
+ 61 3 9919 4707
palmina.fichera@vu.edu.au
Grants (Funded/Awarded) all areas for:
  • Australian Competitive Grants (except ARC & NHMRC)
  • Public Sector Grants (Federal, State or Local).
Zana Stefanovski
+ 61 3 9919 4710
zana.stefanovski@vu.edu.au
Internal Research Funding (all) Zana Stefanovski
+ 61 3 9919 4710
zana.stefanovski@vu.edu.au
Limited strategic admin support to College Research Directors Birute Prasmutas
+61 3 9919 1041
birute.prasmutas@vu.edu.au
Contracts management Louise Bester
+61 3 9919 5365
louise.bester@vu.edu.au
IP and commercialisation management David Kay, Executive Manager Research Innovation & Industry
+61 3 9919 5440
david.kay@vu.edu.au