The 2017 Tertiary Art Prize exhibition at VU at MetroWest

Entries for the Footscray Art Prize closed on 15 March, with the second iteration of the national visual art prize attracting over 800 entries.

The Prize was established in 2016 as a collaboration between Footscray Art Prize committee members Victoria University, Maribyrnong City Council, Footscray Community Arts Centre and the Rotary Club of Footscray, and received 800 entries in its first year.

Reaching a total of 804 entries in the second year of the biennial Footscray Art Prize, the committee was pleased to have a comparable response to the inaugural year from artists across Australia.

Every state in Australia is represented in the pool of entries, providing an incredibly diverse range of artworks for the panel of judges to select from. The 2019 Footscray Art Prize judging panel is comprised of:

  • Katrina Sedgwick, Director and CEO – Australian Centre for the Moving Image (ACMI)
  • Hanna Presley, Curator – Australian Centre of Contemporary Art (ACCA)
  • Raafat Ishak, Artist and Head of Painting – Victorian College of the Arts (VCA)
  • Simon Spain, Founding Director – Art Play (judging the Young Artists category).

With a main prize of $10,000 and unique categories for street art, tertiary students and young artists, the Footscray Art Prize is fast becoming nationally recognised and a highly sought-after Prize in creative communities.

Key dates:

Contact us

Katrina Gubbins
Engagement Communications Coordinator
Footscray University Town
+61 3 9919 5130