Footscray Art Prize opening in 2017 at the Footscray Community Arts Centre

The Footscray Art Prize judging panel – made up of ACMI’s Katrina Sedgwick, ACCA’s Hannah Presley, and VCA’s Raafat Ishak – have selected the shortlisted artworks for the 2019 Prize, following a review of over 600 entries across three categories.

The judges were impressed by the quality of work they viewed.

“The volume of entries gave me a good insight into some of the exciting work being created across the country and led to an enjoyable discussion with my co-judges,” Hannah Presley, Curator at the Australian Centre for Contemporary Art said.

Thirty-three artworks from across Australia were shortlisted in the Footscray Art Prize main category, three in the Street Art category, and twenty-two in the Tertiary category. A range of mediums are represented, including a high number of contemporary sculptural and installation works.

“A highlight of the shortlist for me is the diverse materiality. Our selection is a dynamic offering that addresses themes of environment, place, identity and observation,” Hannah continued.

Shortlisted artworks go into the running for a total cash prize pool of $17,500, including the coveted $10,000 main prize.

The Footscray Art Prize is a biennial non-acquisitive visual arts prize open to local and national artists across multiple disciplines.

It represents a significant overview of Australia’s contemporary art scene, contributing to Footscray’s reputation as a thriving cultural hub that supports and fosters the arts and celebrates artistic vibrancy and creativity.

The shortlisted works will be available for viewing at exhibitions being held at Footscray Community Arts Centre and VU at MetroWest.

Both exhibitions will be open from 20 June – 20 July, with the winner of each category announced during the opening night.

Opening night

Tertiary Art Prize and Young Artists Prize

VU at MetroWest

5pm – 5:30pm

Footscray Art Prize and Street Art Prize

Footscray Community Arts Centre

6pm – 8pm

Both exhibitions will be on display until 20 July. 

The Footscray Art Prize is proudly presented by collaborating partners Victoria University, Maribyrnong City Council, Footscray Community Arts Centre and the Rotary Club of Footscray, and is part of the Footscray University Town initiative. 

Shortlisted artists

Footscray Art Prize

Benjamin Aitken and Jon Cattapan VIC

Tim Brade VIC

Emma Bugg TAS

Renae Burton VIC

Andy Butler VIC

Patrick Dagg VIC

Julia deVille VIC

Megan Evans VIC

Tamirat Gebremariam VIC

Charlie Ingemar Harding VIC

David Hourigan VIC

Paula Hunt VIC

Bob Hutchison VIC

Elizabeth Kala Kala NT

Yasbelle Kerkow VIC

Alicia King VIC

Anna Kiparis VIC

Phong Chi Lai TAS

Adrian Lazzaro VIC

Nancy Lehet VIC

Anna Madeleine ACT

Craig Midford VIC

Lola-Mae Pink VIC

Michael G.F. Prior VIC

Ella Smart VIC

Samantha Sommariva VIC

Cezary Stulgis VIC

Jasmine Targett VIC

Louis Theuma VIC

Karen Thorn VIC

Shellie Tonkin VIC

Alan Young TAS

Myles Young NSW

Street Art Prize

Ling VIC

Creature Creature VIC

Justine McAllister VIC

Tertiary Prize

Klari Agar VIC

Prudence Bansemer VIC

Andre Bruzzese VIC

April Chandler VIC

Jessica Coombs VIC

Ceardai Demelza VIC

Mark du Potiers QLD

Fiz Eustance VIC

Michal Goldberg VIC

Tom Goodman VIC

Tameka Hague VIC

Letisha Hirniak VIC

Lewis Ihnatko NSW

Natasha Krcevinac VIC

Alessando Licul VIC

Leah Mariani VIC

Nigel Matejcic QLD

Claudia Phares VIC

Daniel Sherington QLD

Yara Ueltschi VIC

Holly Watson VIC

Leon Zhan VIC

Contact us

Katrina Gubbins
Engagement Communications Coordinator
Footscray University Town
+61 3 9919 5130