College staff

Find contact details below for staff in the College of Engineering & Science. Staff are listed in discipline groups.

The key contacts are:

  • Farzad Khosrowshahi, Dean of the College of Engineering & Science
  • Professor Akhtar Kalam, Head of Discipline in Engineering
  • Associate Professor Zora Vrcelj, Head of Discipline in Building
  • Professor Yuan Miao, Head of Discipline in Information Technology
  • Dr Joshua Johnson, Head of Discipline in Science.

Leadership team

Contact details for the College of Engineering & Science Leadership team staff
Name Contact details
Farzad Khosrowshahi
Dean, College of Engineering & Science
+61 3 9919 5862
farzad.khosrowshahi1
@vu.edu.au
Dr Randall Robinson
Director, Research
+61 3 9919 2885
randall.robinson@vu.edu.au
Professor Stephen Collins
Director, Research Training
+61 3 9919 4283
stephen.collins@vu.edu.au
Dr Cagil Ozansoy
Assistant Director Research and Research Training
+61 3 9919 5046
cagil.ozansoy@vu.edu.au
Dr Alasdair McAndrew
Director of Learning & Teaching (Operations)
+61 3 9919 4344
alasdair.mcandrew@vu.edu.au
Associate Professor Andrew Smallridge
Director, Teaching and Learning (Course Quality)
+61 3 9919 4758
andrew.smallridge@vu.edu.au
Professor Stephen Gray
Director, Institute of Sustainability and Innovation (ISI)
+61 3 9919 8097
stephen.gray@vu.edu.au
Professor Yanchun Zhang
Director, Centre for Applied Informatics (CAI)
+61 3 9919 5060
yanchun.zhang@vu.edu.au
Professor Vasily Novozhilov
Director (Acting), Centre for Environmental Safety and Risk Engineering (CESARE)
+61 3 9919 8612
vasily.novozhilov@vu.edu.au
Professor Akhtar Kalam
Head of Discipline, Engineering
+61 3 9919 5504
akhtar.kalam@vu.edu.au
Associate Professor Zora Vrcelj
Head of Discipline, Building
+61 3 9919 4459
zora.vrcelj@vu.edu.au
Professor Yuan Miao
Head of Discipline, Information Technology
+61 3 9919 4605
yuan.miao@vu.edu.au
Dr Joshua Johnson
Head of Discipline, Science
+61 3 9919 8279
engsci.science@vu.edu.au

Engineering

Professor Akhtar Kalam, Head of Discipline, Engineering
Phone: +61 3 9919 5504 | Email: akhtar.kalam@vu.edu.au        

Architectural engineering

Contact details for Architectural Engineering staff.
Name Contact details
Dr Dimuth Navaratna
Senior Lecturer
+61 3 9919 5554
dimuth.navaratna@vu.edu.au
Christopher Adam
Adjunct Associate Professor
christopher.adam@vu.edu.au
Ian Campbell
Honorary Fellow
ian.campbell@vu.edu.au
Michael Jackson
Adjunct Associate Professor
michael.jackson@vu.edu.au

Civil engineering

Contact details for Civil Engineering staff.
Name Contact details
Dr Sam Fragomeni
Professor
+61 3 9919 5212
sam.fragomeni@vu.edu.au
Dr Qing Liang
Associate Professor
+61 3 9919 4134
qing.liang@vu.edu.au
Dr Shobha Muthukumaran
Senior Lecturer
+61 3 9919 4859
shobha.muthukumaran@vu.edu.au
Dr Nitin Muttil
Senior Lecturer
+61 3 9919 4251
nitin.muttil@vu.edu.au
Dr Anne Ng
Senior Lecturer
+61 3 9919 5507
anne.ng@vu.edu.au
Dr Anthony Parker
Senior Lecturer; Course coordinator: Bachelor of Engineering (Hons)(Civil Engineering)
+61 3 9919 4321
engsci.civil.eng@vu.edu.au
Dr Ashok Sharma
Associate Professor Water Resources
+61 3 9919 4519
ashok.sharma@vu.edu.au
Dr Rudi VanStaden
Lecturer and Deputy Course Coordinator, Bachelor of Engineering, (Hons) (Civil Engineering
+61 3 9919 4795
rudi.vanstaden@vu.edu.au
Dr Vincent Wang
Senior Lecturer, Civil Engineering
+61 3 9919 9453
vincent.wang@vu.edu.au
Chris Perera
Emeritus Professor

chris.perera@vu.edu.au

Mark Bismark
Adjunct Associate Professor
mark.bismark@vu.edu.au
Peter Lechte
Honorary Fellow
peter.lechte@vu.edu.au

Electrical & electronic engineering

Contact details for Electrical and Electronic Engineering staff.
Name Contact details
John Chlond
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 4701
john.chlond@vu.edu.au
Professor Stephen Collins
Professor and Director Research Training
+61 3 9919 4283
stephen.collins@vu.edu.au
Dr Mike Faulkner
Professor
+61 3 9919 4254
mike.faulkner@vu.edu.au
Dr Horace King
Senior Lecturer, Course coordinator: Master of Engineering
+61 3 9919 4696
horace.king@vu.edu.au
Dr Daniel Lai
Senior Lecturer, Course coordinator: Bachelor of Engineering (Electrical and Sports Engineering)
+61 3 9919 4425
daniel.lai@vu.edu.au
Valli Navaratnam
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 4991
valli.navaratnam@vu.edu.au
Dr Cagil Ozansoy
Senior Lecturer, First Year Champion: Engineering, Assistant Director Research and Research Training
+61 3 9919 5046
cagil.ozansoy@vu.edu.au
Associate Professor Juan Shi
Senior Lecturer, Women in Engineering Coordinator
+61 3 9919 4034
juan.shi@vu.edu.au
Professor Peng Shi +61 3 9919 6273
peng.shi@vu.edu.au
Dr Wee Sit Lee
Senior Lecturer
+61 3 9919 4053
weesit.lee@vu.edu.au
Professor Alan Hahn
Honorary Professor
 
Dr Aladin Zayegh
Adjunct Professor
+61 3 9919 4858
aladin.zayegh@vu.edu.au

Mechanical engineering

Contact details for Mechanical Engineering staff.
Name Contact details
Vincent Rouillard
Professor
+61 3 9919 4602
vincent.rouillard@vu.edu.au
Dr Lutfar Khan
Course Coordinator, Bachelor of Engineering (Hons) (Mechanical Engineering)
+61 3 9919 4687
lutfar.khan@vu.edu.au
Dr Catherine Sullivan
Academic Teaching Scholar, Co-coordinator, Bachelor of Engineering (Hons) (Mechanical Engineering)
+61 3 99195673
catherine.sullivan@vu.edu.au
Dr Matthew Lamb
Senior Lecturer
+61 3 9919 5591
matthew.lamb@vu.edu.au
Dr Jun-de Li
Professor
+61 3 9919 4105
jun-de.li@vu.edu.au
Dr Michael Sek
Associate Professor
+61 3 9919 4205
michael.sek@vu.edu.au
Dr Leonard L. Koss
Adjunct Associate Professor
leonard.koss@vu.edu.au
Barbara Rinderer
Adjunct Fellow
barbara.rinderer@vu.edu.au
Dr Josef Rojter
Adjunct Fellow
josef.rojter@vu.edu.au
Dr Danh Tran
Adjunct Fellow
danh.tran@vu.edu.au

Building

Associate Professor Zora Vrcelj, Head of Discipline, Building
Phone: + 61 3 99194459 | Email: zora.vrcelj@vu.edu.au

Contact details for Building staff.
Name Contact details
Dr Elmira Jemei
Academic Teaching Scholar, Course Coordinator, Bachelor of Building Design
+61 3 99195847
elmira.jamei@vu.edu.au
Mr Sam Kashuk
Academic Teaching Scholar
+61 3 9919 9104
sam.kashuk@vu.edu.au
Dr Sherif Mostafa
Lecturer, Course Coordinator, Bachelor of Building (Construction Management)
+61 3 99195743
sherif.mostafa@vu.edu.au
Dr Payam Rahnamayiezekavat
Senior Lecturer, First Year Champion,
+61 3 9919 9216
payam.rahnamayiezekavat@vu.edu.au
Mr Vinayaga Sarma
Course coordinator: Graduate Certificate/Graduate Diploma/Master of Engineering (Project Management)
+61 3 9919 4964
graham.thorpe@vu.edu.au
Dr Graham Thorpe
Professor
+61 3 9919 4964
graham.thorpe@vu.edu.au
Dr Wei Yang
Lecturer, Course Coordinator, Bachelor of Building (Surveying)
+61 3 99195287
wei.yang@vu.edu.au

Information technology

Professor Yuan Miao, Head of Discipline, Information technology
Phone: +61 3 9919 4605 | Email: yuan.miao@vu.edu.au

Contact details for Information Technology staff.
Name Contact details
Dr Khandakar Ahmed khandakar.ahmed@vu.edu.au
Professor Jing He
Course Coordinator, Graduate Certificate in Cyber Security
+61 3 9919 4676
jing.he@vu.edu.au
Dr Huai Liu +61 3 9919 5868
huai.liu@vu.edu.au
Dr Gitesh Raikundalia
Senior Lecturer
+61 3 9919 4691
gitesh.raikundalia@vu.edu.au
Dr Jackie Rong
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 4248
jia.rong@vu.edu.au
Dr Hao Shi
Associate Professor and Course Coordinator: Bachelor of Information Technology
+61 3 9919 4060
hao.shi@vu.edu.au
Dr Grace Tan
Senior Lecturer and First Year Champion, Information Technology
+61 3 9919 4685
grace.tan@vu.edu.au
Dr Anwaar Ulhaq
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 5005
anwaar.ulhaq@vu.edu.au
Professor Hong Xu
Research Professor
+61 3 9919 4426
hong.xu@vu.edu.au
Nalin Sharda
Adjunct Associate Professor
 
Jakub Szajman
Adjunct Fellow
 

Science

Dr Joshua Johnson, Head of Discipline, Science
Phone: +61 3 9919 8279 | Email: engsci.science@vu.edu.au

Science

Contact details for Science staff.
Name Contact details
Dr Stephen Bigger
Professor
+61 3 9919 2959
stephen.bigger@vu.edu.au
Dr Paul Boon
Professor
+61 3 9919 5954
paul.boon@vu.edu.au
Dr Domenico Caridi
Senior Lecturer, Course Coordinator Bachelor of Pharmaceutical and Health Science
+61 3 9919 8077
domenico.caridi@vu.edu.au
Dr Sandra McKechnie
Senior Lecturer
+61 3 9919 8067
sandra.mckechnie@vu.edu.au
Dr Lawrence Ngeh
Senior Lecturer
+61 3 9919 8102
lawrence.ngeh@vu.edu.au
Dr John Orbell
Professor, Course Coordinator, Science Honours
+61 3 9919 8066
john.orbell@vu.edu.au
Dr Megan O'Shea
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 2129
megan.oshea@vu.edu.au
Dr Randall Robinson
Senior Lecturer, Director Research
+61 3 9919 2885
randall.robinson@vu.edu.au
Dr Andrew Smallridge
Associate Professor, Director Learning and Teaching (Course Quality)
+61 3 9919 4758
andrew.smallridge@vu.edu.au
Dr Thomas Yeager
Senior Lecturer, Course Coordinator, Bachelor of Science, Bachelor of Science (Science for Teaching)
+61 3 9919 8103
thomas.yeager@vu.edu.au
Mary Millikan
Adjunct Associate Professor
 
Dr Maurice Trewhella
Honorary Fellow
 
Mr MD Nazim Uddin
Adjunct Fellow
 

Mathematics & physics

Contact details for Mathematics & Physics staff.
Name Contact details
Dr Alasdair McAndrew
Senior Lecturer and Director Learning and Teaching (Operations)
+61 3 9919 4344
alasdair.mcandrew@vu.edu.au
Dr Greg Baxter
Professor
+61 3 9919 4576
gregory.baxter@vu.edu.au
Professor Stephen Collins
Professor and Director Research Training
+61 3 9919 4283
stephen.collins@vu.edu.au
Dr Andrew Cramond
Senior Lecturer, Course Coordinator: Bachelor of Engineering (Electrical & Electronic Engineering)
+61 3 9919 4276
andrew.cramond@vu.edu.au
Anthony Doggett
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 4697
anthony.doggett@vu.edu.au
Professor Silvestru Sever Dragomir
Professor
+61 3 9919 4437
sever.dragomir@vu.edu.au
Dr Fuchun Huang
Senior Lecturer
+61 3 9919 4431
fuchun.huang@vu.edu.au
Dr Thinh Nguyen
Associate Professor
+61 3 9919 4281
thinh.nguyen@vu.edu.au

Gabriele Sorrentino
Lecturer, First Year Champion, Science

+61 3 9919 5227
gabriele.sorrentino@vu.edu.au

Fotios Sidiroglou
Honorary Fellow
 

College support staff

Professional services

Contact details for the College of Engineering & Science professional services staff
Name Contact details
Natalie Glenton
College Manager
+61 3 9919 9298
natalie.glenton@vu.edu.au
Joyce Nastasi
Executive Officer to the College Dean
+61 3 9919 1027
joyce.nastasi@vu.edu.au
Luba Schnitzer
Senior Administrative Officer
+ 61 3 9919 5058
luba.schnitzer@vu.edu.au
Yildiz Djelal
Senior Administrative Officer (Courses & Units)
+ 61 3 9919 4699
yildiz.djelal@vu.edu.au
Effie Moustakas
Course and Unit Administrator
+ 61 3 9919 5037
cua.coes@vu.edu.au
Maria Penagandara
Course and Unit Administrator
+ 61 3 9919 5037
cua.coes@vu.edu.au
Alexandra Poulios
Administration Officer
+ 61 3 9919 5204
alexandra.poulios@vu.edu.au

Financial services

Contact details for the College of Engineering & Science financial services staff
Name Contact details
Ray Magid
Business Manager
+61 3 9919 9158
ray.magid@vu.edu.au
Geena Huynh
Senior Finance Officer
geena.huynh@vu.edu.au

Research services

Contact details for the College of Engineering & Science research services staff
Name Contact details
Patrick Guay
Manager Research Facilitation and Development
+61 3 9919 2993
patrick.guay@vu.edu.au
Elizabeth Smith
Senior Officer (Graduate Research)
+ 61 3 9919 4228
elizabeth.smith@vu.edu.au

Industry & Community Engagement

Contact details for the College of Engineering & Science Industry & Community Liaison
Name Contact details
Lovelesh Ramsahye
Coordinator, Industry and Community Engagement
+61 3 9919 2175
lovelesh.ramsahye@vu.edu.au