Electrical Power

Unit set code: NSPELE | Study level: Postgraduate | Unit set type: Specialisation
In person
Footscray Park


The Master of Engineering specialisation in Electrical Power comprises coursework, design exercises and research projects designed to enable students to acquire specialised skills and expertise in the field of Power Systems, specifically catering for the contemporary Smart electricity system. Making the electricity grid Smart compliant is a global priority. Upgrading electricity grids to 21st century standards requires incorporating power engineering with the latest digital communications systems and information technology areas (including sensors, electronics, controls and wireless devices). The course will enhance students’ academic experience through work-related learning. Active learning, strong contextualisation and industry relevance characterise the design, development and delivery of resources and course materials.

Unit set structure

For a Specialisation, students must complete ninety-six (96) credit points of study, comprising of:

  • Eight (8) Core Specialist Area units.
What is a unit?

A full course is made up of several smaller topics or subjects. These are referred to as 'units'.
Most courses have compulsory 'core' units, as well as optional units.


'Credit points' are the value that each unit contributes towards your course.
Most units at VU are worth 12 credit points. You will need to complete the required course credit points to graduate.

As part of a course

This unit set is studied as part of the following course(s):

Search for units, majors & minors