VU Achievement scholarships are achievement-based scholarships for students from Melbourne's west.  Achievement is determined by a combination of commitment and motivation towards studies, community involvement and extra curricular activities as determined by their school.

Secondary schools in the western region council areas of Brimbank, Hobson's Bay, Hume, Maribyrnong, Melton, Moonee Valley and Wyndham will be offered two scholarships:

  • one for the highest achieving Year 12 student who enrols in a VU bachelor degree (undergraduate course)
  • one for the highest achieving Year 12 student who enrols in a Victoria University Polytechnic (TAFE) course.

VU achievement scholars Nadia Kapri, Steven Tamburro, Loren Horster and James Ballantyne.


The undergraduate scholarship is valued at $5,000 each year for up to four years (maximum of $20,000).

The TAFE scholarship is valued at $2,000 each year for up to two years (maximum of $4,000).


You will be ranked by your school on your demonstrated record of achievement. This will be based on internal school assessments, not your ATAR score.

In order to rank students of equal merit, your school may choose to also take into consideration the following:

  • your involvement in extra curricular activities within the school, the community or your home
  • commitment and motivation to your studies
  • the extent to which the scholarship will make a significant difference to your capacity to continue your education.


To be considered for a VU Achievement scholarship you must:

  • be currently enrolled in Year 12 at one of the participating schools
  • register to be included in your schools ranking
  • be an Australian Citizen or Permanent Resident.

To be granted a VU Achievement scholarship you must:

  • apply to study at VU
  • be offered a place at VU and enrol full time in an undergraduate degree, Certificate, Diploma or Advanced Diploma
  • be ranked by your secondary school.

  • Aitken College
  • Al-Taqwa College
  • Ave Maria College
  • Bayside P-12 College
  • Braybrook Secondary College
  • Buckley Park College
  • Caroline Chisholm Catholic College
  • Catholic Regional College Melton
  • Catholic Regional College Sydenham
  • Copperfield College
  • Craigieburn Secondary College
  • Emmanuel College, Notre Dame Campus
  • Emmanuel College, St Paul's Campus
  • Essendon Keilor College - Niddrie Campus
  • Footscray City College
  • Gilmore College for Girls
  • Gilson College
  • Gladstone Park Secondary College
  • Good News Lutheran College
  • Heathdale Christian College
  • Hoppers Crossing Secondary College
  • Hume Anglican Grammar
  • Hume Central Secondary College - Town Park Campus
  • Ilim College of Australia
  • John Fawkner College
  • Kangan Institute VCE Department
  • Keilor Downs College
  • Kensington Community High School
  • Kolbe Catholic College
  • Kurunjang Secondary College
  • Lakeview Senior College
  • Laverton College P-12
  • Lowther Hall Anglican Grammar School
  • MacKillop Catholic Regional College
  • Manor Lakes P-12 College
  • Marian College Sunshine West
  • Maribyrnong College
  • Melton Christian College
  • Melton Secondary College
  • Mount Alexander Secondary College
  • Mount Ridley College
  • Mount St Joseph Girls' College
  • Overnewton Anglican Community College (Keilor campus)
  • Penleigh & Essendon Grammar School
  • Penola Catholic College
  • Point Cook Senior Secondary College
  • Rosehill Secondary College
  • Roxburgh College
  • Salesian College Rupertswood
  • Sirius College
  • Southern Cross Grammar
  • St Albans Secondary College
  • St Bernard's College
  • St Columba's College
  • St Mary's Coptic Orthodox College
  • Staughton College
  • Strathmore Secondary College
  • Sunbury Secondary College
  • Sunbury Downs College
  • Sunshine College
  • Suzanne Cory High School
  • Tarneit Senior College
  • Taylors Lakes Secondary College
  • The Grange P-12 College
  • The Islamic College of Melbourne
  • Thomas Carr College
  • Victoria University Secondary College
  • Victoria University VCE Department
  • Werribee Secondary College
  • Westbourne Grammar School
  • Williamstown High School - Pasco St Campus
  • Wyndham Central College

How to apply

Applications are taken online via VU Connect.

Apply now

Scholarship offer timeline

November: Each secondary school will rank their students and provide the list to VU.

Mid-December: First ranked students will be advised that they will receive a VU Achievement Scholarship – provided they have applied for a course at VU and receive an offer to enrol.

January/February: We will monitor enrolments and make a formal offer of a VU Achievement scholarship in January/February.

If the top ranked student from each school does not receive, or does not accept an offer to enrol at VU, then a scholarship will be offered to the next highest ranked student.

No scholarship offers will be made after the end of February.

Scholarship program supporters

The Achievement Scholarship Program is an initiative of Victoria University's Foundation and is only possible due to the generosity of donors. The people and organisations who give to this scholarship program strongly believe in recognising students who aspire to further education and have a record of achievement in their school and community.

The Foundation is grateful to all our donors and supporters.

Find out how you can support VU Achievement scholarships.

Contact us

If you have further questions about scholarships, contact the Scholarships office.

ASKVU Find answers and ask questions
Phone: +61 3 9919 6100
Email: [email protected]