Media releases

Rio Olympics 2016 academic expert guide

Victoria University, Australia’s leading sports university, has leading academic experts available to comment on the Rio Olympics 2016.

Please contact these experts directly or call media contact Elisabeth Tarica on +61 3 9919 9491 or 0435 960 793.

Sporting talent and genetics

Professor David Bishop, Institute of Sport, Exercise Science and Active Living

Phone: +61 3 9919 9471
Mobile: 0435 962 364
Email: david.bishop@vu.edu.au

Dr Bishop is a sport scientist who has worked in many sports including football, athletics and swimming. He is able to discuss the genetics and physiology associated with elite Olympic performance.   

Success potential / Olympic history

Dr Richard Baka, College of Sport & Exercise Science

Phone: +61 3 9919 4358
Mobile: 0403 031 295
Email: richard.baka@vu.edu.au

Dr Baka is one of the few Australia academics to specialise in Olympic studies, Olympic history, and Olympic research. He is able to comment on all aspects of the history and culture of the Games, and Australia’s potential for success.

Swimming

Dr Damian Farrow, Institute of Sport, Exercise Science and Active Living

Phone: +61 3 9919 5001
Mobile: 0408 445 701
Email: damian.farrow@vu.edu.au

Dr Farrow works with Swimming Australia as its lead expert in skill acquisition and development.

Television / broadcasting

Marc C-Scott, College of Arts

Phone: +61 3 9919 2920
Mobile: 0408 998 971
Email: marc.c-scott@vu.edu.au

Marc has a strong research focus on Australian television, and can also comment on changes to the television industries in the UK and the USA. He can provide insights into television broadcasting rights, cross-media distribution, media streaming, and video-on-demand.

Business / marketing of the Olympics

Dr Eric Schwartz, College of Sport and Exercise Science

Phone: +61 3 9919 4435
Mobile: 0413 180 561
Email: eric.schwartz@vu.edu.au

Dr Schwartz can discuss the sport business, marketing, finance and facility management.

Cycling, triathlon, rowing, athletics / information technology

Professor John Zeleznikow, College of Business

Phone: +61 3 9919 1837
Mobile: 0432 154 217
Email: john.zeleznikow@vu.edu.au

Dr Zeleznikow can discuss how information technology and artificial intelligence can enhance sporting decision-making and performance as well as the individual sports of athletics, cycling, rowing and triathlon.

Business, integrity and ethics of the Olympics

Associate Professor Dennis Hemphill, College of Sport and Exercise Science

Phone: +61 3 9919 4486
Mobile: 0410 844 714
Email: dennis.hemphill@vu.edu.au

Dr Hemphill’s expertise covers sport integrity, ethics and leadership. He is also able to comment on doping and anti-doping issues.

Professor Elisabeth Wilson-Evered, College of Business

Phone: +61 3 9919 9264
Mobile: 0407 758 948
Email: elisabeth.wilson-evered@vu.edu.au

Dr Wilson-Evered is an organisational psychologist with significant consulting, research and teaching experience. She can comment on sport integrity, ethics and leadership.

Legacy & terrorism / security

Associate Professor Ramón Spaaij, College of Sport and Exercise Science

Phone: +61 3 9919 4683
Email: ramon.spaaij@vu.edu.au

Dr Spaaji’s primary fields of expertise are the sociology of sport and the sociology of terrorism.

Global sport policy

Dr Camilla Brockett, Institute of Sport, Exercise and Active Living

Phone: +61 39919 5526
Mobile: 0412 085 588
Email: camilla.brockett@vu.edu.au

Dr Brockett has a mix of academic and industry experience in elite sport system development and evaluation.

Gender / women at the Olympics

Associate Professor Clare Hanlon, College of Sport and Exercise Science

Phone: +61 3 9919 4383
Email: clare.hanlon@vu.edu.au

Dr Hanlon is engaged with a number of Australia sporting organisations and industry associations where she has a focus on women in leadership and participation in sport.

Associate Professor Caroline Symons, VU College of Sport and Exercise Science

Phone: +61 3 9919 4389
Mobile: 0401 105 170
Email: caroline.symons@vu.edu.au

Dr Symons is an authority in the area of gender, sexuality (gender testing) and sport studies.

See all media releases