Sport awards

Victoria University (VU) has a long and proud tradition of sporting excellence. Some of our students have represented Australia at the Olympic and Commonwealth Games. Many have competed at the World University Games and Championships.

The great sporting achievements of our students are recognised through our annual VU Sport Awards.

On this page

VU Sport Awards

At the annual Victoria University Sport Awards we celebrate the achievements of past and present students. The award categories recognise outstanding sporting performance and service by individuals, teams and clubs across VU.

Congratulations to all the 2014 nominees and recipients.

Individual award categories

Blues (Individual Awardees)
Recognising outstanding sporting performance representing University, country and or state.


  • Ellen Pettitt
  • William Johns

Australian Rules

  • Michael Robertson


  • Gronya Somerville


  • Eren Yondemli
  • Jessica Francke
  • Ashleigh Gunn


  • Andreas Miessen


  • Nathaniel Fox


  • Aoife Coughlan
  • Kiyoshi Goad Blue


  • Brea Roadley


  • Tamara Elshaar
  • Sally Portbury
  • Madeline Carter


  • Jackson Harrison


  • Lauren Staveley


  • Kotuku Ngawati

Table Tennis

  • David Powell


  • Jiheon An
  • Jin Su Kim
  • Solyi Im
  • Sangwon Kim
  • Jae Yeong Cho
  • Hyeon Ki Min
  • Taebin An
  • YeHwan Lee
  • Jonghwan Seo
  • Kuk Ho Lee

Sport Person of the Year

Awarded to the best performing student (male and female):

  • Miao Miao - Table Tennis
  • Jackson Harrison – Rowing

Academic and Sporting Excellence

  • Jacinta Carroll - Water Skiing

Club and team award categories

Team/Club Service

Recognising outstanding service to the development and maintenance of sporting clubs and representative teams (students and non-students).

  • Debbie Lee – Australian Rules
  • Carissa Allen - Basketball
  • Aaron Neal –Touch

Sport Club of the Year

Awarded to club competing in community sporting association that has achieved significant success and improvement from previous year.

  • VU Volleyball Club

Team of the Year

Awarded for outstanding team achievement at the Australian University Games or an Australian University Championship.

  • Taekwondo

Award nominations

Nominations are now closed.

Victoria University Sport Hall of Fame

Inductees into the VU sport hall of fame are retired elite sport players who are VU graduates and recognises that they have achieved outstanding, sustained performance in an elite sport.

Year of induction Athlete's name Sport
2014 John Butkiewicz Lacrosse
2013 Luke Doerner Hockey
2012 Tony Dodemaide Cricket
2011 Brad Johnson Australian Rules
2010 Peter Thomson AO CBE Golf
2008 Rachael Dacy Pole Vault
2007 Danny Morseu Basketball
2006 Campbell Rose Sailing
2005 Larry Sengstock Basketball
2004 Rebecca Sullivan Judo
2003 Mike McKay Rowing
2002 Andrew Gaze Basketball

Contact us

For further information on VU's sport awards contact:

Scott Cashmere, Sport Services Manager
Phone: + 61 3 9919 4433