About Moondani Balluk

All Moondani Balluk staff maintain close links and relationships with the Aboriginal community, government, partners, our students and researchers. We work to:

Moondani Balluk is a culturally safe and supportive place for Aboriginal students and staff at Victoria University. Moondani Balluk means ‘embrace people’ in the Woiwurrung language of the Wurundjeri people.

Moondani Bulluk provides a wide range of information, services and support for Aboriginal students and staff. We offer:

  • courses and units with an Aboriginal focus
  • student assistance and support
  • scholarships
  • cultural activities for staff and students
  • academic, personal and cultural support
  • networking and professional development opportunities.

We also support Aboriginal research and researchers.

The work of Moondani Balluk is informed and guided by the University-wide Aboriginal strategy, Bathlemun Yalingwa.

Download the Moondani Balluk brochure.

Aboriginal Strategy Leadership Committee

The Vice-Chancellor leads the implementation of our Aboriginal Strategy, Bathelmun Yalingwa.

The Vice Chancellors’ Indigenous Strategy Leadership Committee consists of senior leaders (the Senior Leadership Team) and senior representatives of the University’s Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander community. The senior leaders have direct accountability for the achievement of the Strategy aspirations: gamadji (grow), dambunamon (share) and jerrboongun (connect).

Cultural awareness workshops & training

Cultural awareness workshops and training are available to staff at VU through HR Zone.

The Yulendj Warrung online Indigenous Cultural Awareness program is designed to raise awareness of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander perspectives in the teaching, learning and community engagement of all university staff. The program offers participants the opportunity to hear from Aboriginal staff about the historical and contemporary experiences of Aboriginal peoples.

Aboriginal Cultural Awareness sessions are delivered by Leon Egan, a highly-respected Aboriginal Education facilitator with a wealth of experience across the sporting, corporate, not-for-profit and community sectors. Leon's approach to the sessions is to create a safe environment where staff can explore, learn and improve their understanding and respect for Aboriginal history and culture.

Contact us

Karen Jackson, Director | karen.jackson@vu.edu.au

Academic staff

Professor Anthony Birch, Bruce McGuinness Indigenous Research Fellow | anthony.birch@vu.edu.au

Professor Gary Foley, Professor | gary.foley@vu.edu.au

Paola Balla, Aboriginal Lecturer/Researcher | paola.balla@vu.edu.au

Viki Briggs, Sessional Lecturer | viki.briggs@vu.edu.au

Tracey Cooper, Academic Teaching Scholar | tracey.cooper@vu.edu.au

Julie Huf, Academic Teaching Scholar | julie.huf@vu.edu.au

Jacqui Katona, Aboriginal Lecturer/Researcher | jacqui.katona@vu.edu.au

Kim Kruger, Aboriginal Lecturer/Researcher | kim.kruger@vu.edu.au

Maree Olle, Academic Teaching Scholar | maree.olle@vu.edu.au

Kate Russell, Aboriginal Health & Wellbeing Lecturer | kate.russell@vu.edu.au

Professional staff

Marcus Brooke, Aboriginal Student Life Project Officer | marcus.brooke@vu.edu.au

Tanaya Lyons, Senior Administrative Officer | tanaya.lyons@vu.edu.au

Rowena Price, Indigenous Community Liaison Officer & Teacher (Victoria University Polytechnic) | rowena.price@vu.edu.au

Irene Sazdov, Indigenous Employment & Community Liaison | irene.sazdov@vu.edu.au

Lyn Thorpe, ARC Community Liaison Manager & Research Assistant | lynette.thorpe@vu.edu.au

Clare Land, ARC Linkage Associate Investigator/Sessional Lecturer | clare.land@vu.edu.au

Aboriginal History Archive

Rochelle Lepper, Project Manager | rochelle.lepper@vu.edu.au

Julie Fenley, Research Archivist | julie.fenley@vu.edu.au

Jon Hawkes, Archive Manager | jon.hawkes@vu.edu.au

Dr Edwina Howell, Research Officer | edwina.howell@vu.edu.au

William Peart, Research Archivist | william.peart@vu.edu.au

General enquiries

Phone: +61 3 9919 2836 (reverse charge calls accepted)

Email: moondani.balluk@vu.edu.au

Follow Moondani Balluk on Facebook and keep up-to-date with news and events.