Media releases

Australian Open 2016: Tennis expert guide

Victoria University, Australia’s leading sports university, has a team of tennis experts available for comment during the Australian Open 2016.

Media can contact experts directly.

Dr Tim Buszard, VU Institute of Sport, Exercise and Active Living and Tennis Australia
(03) 9919 4512 or 0431 734 392 or tim.buszard@vu.edu.au

  • Modified tennis for junior players (Hot Shots)
  • Skill acquisition

Professor Bob Stewart, VU College of Sport and Exercise Science
(03) 9919 4350 or 0407 564 471 or bob.stewart@vu.edu.au

  • Economic and social impacts of the Australian Open

Professor Hans Westerbeek, VU Institute of Sport, Exercise and Active Living
(03) 9919 9473 or 0408 133 756 or hans.westerbeek@vu.edu.au

  • Building Melbourne’s brand through sport
  • Sport business, sponsorship and brands

Professor Damian Farrow, VU Institute of Sport, Exercise and Active Living and  Australian Institute of Sport (AIS)
(03) 9919 5001 or 0408 445 701 or damian.farrow@vu.edu.au

  • Player visual/anticipation skills
  • Tennis coaching and talent development
  • Qualities of elite players

Associate Professor Clare Hanlon, VU College of Sport and Exercise Science
(03) 9919 4383 or 0438 953 120 or clare.hanlon@vu.edu.au

  • Women in sport
  • Managing personnel in major sporting events

Marc C-Scott, VU College of Arts
(03) 9919 2920 or 0408 998 971 or marc.c-scott@vu.edu.au

  • Television broadcasting and TV rights
  • Broadcast technologies
  • Cross-media distribution
  • Media streaming, and video-on-demand

Professor Anne-Marie Hede, VU College of Business
(03) 9919 1547 or 0466 153 838 or anne-marie.hede@vu.edu.au

  • Australian Open branding and marketing
  • Fan leisure experience

Dr Stephanie Kovalchik, VU College of Sport and Exercise Science and Tennis Australia
0450 509 098 or stephanie.kovalchik@vu.edu.au or s.a.kovalchik@gmail.com

  • Tennis analytics
  • Data analysis

Dr Andre Nelson, VU College of Sport and Exercise Science
(03) 9919 4284 or 0410 268 064 or andre.nelson@vu.edu.au

  • Hydration and nutrition
  • Coping with long matches or extreme weather

Dr Eric Schwartz, VU College of Sport and Exercise Science
(03) 9919 4435 or 0413 180 561 or eric.schwarz@vu.edu.au

  • Sport business
  • Facility management
  • Sport finance

Associate Professor Ramon Spaaij, VU College of Sport and Exercise Science
(03) 9919 4683 or 0415 629 349 or ramon.spaaij@vu.edu.au

  • Crowd and spectator behaviour
  • Fan culture

Dr James Zois, VU Institute of Sport, Exercise and Active Living
(03) 9919 4643 or 0413 497 090 or james.zois@vu.edu.au

  • Junior development and talent identification
  • Strength and conditioning training
  • Warm-up routines

Media contact: Elisabeth Tarica on 0435 960 793 or 9919 9491, or elisabeth.tarica@vu.edu.au

See all media releases