College staff

Staff in the College of Sport and Exercise Science bring together international teaching and research expertise that is at the forefront of scientific and applied development in the industry. Staff are involved in innovative research projects, teaching programs and industry and community collaborations at the forefront of industry trends.

Staff can be contacted to talk about the courses they teach, their research activities and other partnerships and projects.

In addition, our staff may provide their expertise as:

  • board members
  • coaches
  • advisers
  • editors
  • program and conference organisers and invited guest speakers.

Dean

Professor Hans Westerbeek, Dean.

Professor Hans Westerbeek

Hans is the Dean, College of Sport and Exercise Science. His experience ranges from being an active researcher to consultancy work for many international sporting organisations. He co-founded the European Association for Sport Management and was a founding member of the EU's European Network of Sport Science Institutes.

Staff are listed in discipline and program groups.

College leadership team

Name and role title Contact details
Professor Hans Westerbeek
Dean, College of Sport and Exercise Science
+61 3 9919 9473
hans.westerbeek@vu.edu.au
Professor Mike McKenna
Director, Institute of Sport, Exercise and Active Living (ISEAL), and Director of Research, College of Sport and Exercise Science
+61 3 9919 4499
michael.mckenna@vu.edu.au
Associate Professor Michael Spittle
Director Teaching and Learning (Governance)
+61 3 9919 9512
michael.spittle@vu.edu.au
Dr Andrew Dawson
Director of Teaching and Learning (Strategy and Operations)
+61 3 9919 9456
andrew.dawson@vu.edu.au
Associate Professor Robert Aughey
Director, Research
+61 3 9919 6329
robert.aughey@vu.edu.au
Professor Andrew Stewart
Director Research Training
+61 3 9919 5200
andrew.stewart@vu.edu.au
Michael Clayton
Manager, Industry Community and Sport Engagement
+61 3 9919 6318
michael.clayton@vu.edu.au
James Nightingale
General Manager Sport & Health
+61 3 9919 4607
james.nightingale@vu.edu.au
Kerry Barnes
Business Partner
+61 3 9919 1015
kerry.barnes@vu.edu.au
Gladys Britto
College Manager
+61 3 9919 5567
gladys.britto@vu.edu.au

Office of the Dean

Name and role title Contact details
Dominique Lanuto
Executive Assistant to the Dean
+61 3 9919 4432
dominique.lanuto@vu.edu.au
Amanda Rea
Executive Assistant to the Director, ISEAL
+61 3 9919 2685
amanda.rea@vu.edu.au
Teresa Kaczynski
Finance Officer
+61 3 9919 4129
teresa.kaczynski
Steve Gauci
Senior Administrative Officer, CSES
+61 3 9919 5006
steve.gauci@vu.edu.au
Siobhan Warhurst
Administrative Officer, CSES
+61 3 9919 7792
siobhanmarie.warhurst@vu.edu.au
Emma Macintosh
Administrative Officer, ISEAL
+61 3 9919 5790
emma.macintosh@vu.edu.au

Course and unit administrators

Name Contact details
Daniel Crane +61 3 9919 5863
cses.admin@vu.edu.au
Joelle De Saint +61 3 9919 5861
cses.admin@vu.edu.au

Course contacts

To find out which course and unit administrator to contact for each course, see our PDF icon list of course and unit administrators and course chairs.

Physical Education/Sport Coaching / Social & Behavioural Sport Science

Exercise Physiology / Anatomy

Clinical / Rehabilitation

Sport Management

ISEAL

Our ISEAL Associates & postdoctoral research fellows undertake research and engagement activities in the areas of Sport, Exercise Science and Active Living. Associates are staff who support the Institute's direction and goals either through research or community, government and industry engagement.