Media releases

Parliament House hosts Victoria University scholarship launch

Victoria University will formally launch a new scholarship fund on Wednesday at Parliament House honouring two inspirational women from Melbourne’s west.

The Kirner Kosky Scholarship Fund bears the names of Joan Kirner and Lynne Kosky, who shared a commitment to education and public service through long and highly respected careers.

The official launch will be hosted by the Hon Telmo Languiller, Speaker of the Legislative Assembly, and attended by VU Chancellor George Pappas and Vice-Chancellor Peter Dawkins, as well as members of the Kirner and Kosky families.

Other guests will include several well-known former politicians including John Cain, Rob Hull, John Thwaites and Bronwyn Pyke, as well as Susan Alberti, Chair of the VU Foundation, and Western Bulldogs CEO and President Peter Gordon.

Starting in 2017, the Fund will support a range of scholarships for students from the west of Melbourne. These will include one Kirner Scholarship and one Kosky Scholarship to be awarded each year to two young women studying at VU. These students will also receive mentoring from a female community leader.

Joan Kirner represented Williamstown when she served as Premier of Victoria. She occupied many ministerial posts including Minister for Education from 1988–1990, .when she oversaw the transformation of Footscray Institute of Technology to Victoria University of Technology.

Lynne Kosky represented Altona from 1996 until 2010, holding senior ministerial posts in the Bracks and Brumby governments. Prior to entering Parliament, Lynne was a member of Victoria University of Technology Council, and a councillor and mayor at Footscray City Council.

The University is now seeking philanthropic support for the Kirner Kosky Scholarship Fund through its Centenary Campaign.

Media are invited to attend the official launch:


Wednesday 17 February
Queen’s Hall, Parliament House
Spring Street, East Melbourne

RSVP to [email protected] or 9919 1986.

Photos will be available after the event.

Media Contact:

Ann Marie Angebrandt: 03 9919 5487, 0401 100 576, [email protected]


See all media releases