2015 Alumni Awards Finalists

Victoria University is proud to announce the finalists for the 2015 Alumni Awards.

The Victoria University Alumni Awards celebrate and formally recognise the outstanding achievements and contributions of members of the Alumni community in a diverse range of fields and areas of endeavour.

The finalists in each award category are:

Distinguished Alumni Awards

This pre-eminent award recognises the recipient’s exceptional contribution to a chosen field of endeavour, and their pursuit of excellence in everything they do.

Vice-Minister Dulce de Jesus Soares
Master of Arts International Community Development (Asia Pacific Studies), 2007
Vice-Minister of Education for Pre-School and Basic Education - Ministry of Education, Timor-Leste

Ms Halinka Panzera
Master of Business Administration, 2001
Chief Executive Officer – BDC Market Intelligence

Dr John Lasich
Doctor of Philosophy, 2010
Technical Director – Raygen Resources Pty Ltd

Associate Professor Noel Cranswick
Bachelor of Laws, 2013
Director – Clinical Pharmacology and the Australian Paediatric Pharmacology Research Unit at Murdoch Children’s Research Institute and the Royal Children’s Hospital

Young Achiever Alumni Award

This award recognises Alumni aged 35 or younger who have demonstrated significant achievements early in their career or chosen field of endeavour.

Ms Bianca Crocker
Bachelor of Arts, 2002
Director – Fish Community Solutions

Mr Maxwell Gratton
Bachelor of Arts – Sports Administration, 2004 and Master of Business Administration, 2012
Chief Executive Officer – Basketball ACT

Ms Emma Cullen
Bachelor of Business (Tourism Management), 2006
Projects and Marketing Manager – Eureka Skydeck 88

Outstanding Student Alumni Award

This award will be presented to a current student who has demonstrated outstanding qualities in one or more of the following: student leadership, academic success, business initiatives, volunteer or community related work or extracurricular pursuits.

Mr Adam Bromage
Bachelor of Science (Honours) (Psychology), 2014 and Doctor of Philosophy

Ms Brigitte Ellemor
Diploma of Nursing

Ms Shannon Finegan
Bachelor of Laws (Honours)

Mr Dylan Di Martino
Certificate III in Plumbing

Ms Lou Xiaocui (Catherine Lou)
Doctor of Philosophy

Outstanding Service Alumni Award

The recipient of this award will have offered exceptional service to their local community or the Victoria University, Alumni or student community.

The award recognises the recipient as a lifetime friend of the University.

Dr Anne Riggs
Doctor of Philosophy, 2011
Co-Founder – Artists in Community International

His Honor Judge Philip Misso
Adjunct Professor – College of Law & Justice

Mr Kon Karapanagiotidis OAM
Bachelor of Social Work, 1997 and Master of Education, 2006
CEO – Asylum Seekers Resource Centre

Dr Kumudini Heenetigala
Master of Business, 2003 and Doctor of Business Administration, 2011
Research Fellow – Victoria Law School

To find out more about each finalist, you can visit

Recipients for each award category will be announced at the awards ceremony on Tuesday, 27 October 2015.

Thank you to all who nominated someone for an award this year. Victoria University is honoured to celebrate the diverse contributions made by our Alumni Community.

See all news