Our First Year College and First Year Model have been redesigned to enhance the university experience of first-year students.

The success of this model relies on a highly trained, enthusiastic and dedicated team of academic and administrative staff who are focused on helping students adapt to higher education – improving their experience, satisfaction and overall engagement.

Students no longer study four units at the same time, or sit anonymously in large lecture theatres with hundreds of other students.

With the new block model, students work:

  • closely with academic teaching staff
  • with a smaller group of peers
  • on one unit and its assessment tasks at a time (over a four week block).

This will equip students to succeed and excel in their chosen field of study.

 Block model for all VU students by 2020

“We are redesigning the university experience - so our students will have the skills to succeed in a future filled with jobs that are yet to be invented.”

– Professor Andrew Smallridge, Dean.

College senior leadership team

Name and role title

Contact details

Professor Andrew Smallridge

College Dean

+61 3 9919 4758

andrew.smallridge@vu.edu.au 

Ms Rechelle Martinez

Head of Operations

+61 3 9919 4884

rechelle.martinez@vu.edu.au

Dr John Weldon

Head of Curriculum

+61 3 9919 2584

john.weldon@vu.edu.au

Ms Loretta Konjarski

Head of Community Engagement

+61 3 9919 5411

loretta.konjarski@vu.edu.au

Dr Maxwell Winchester

Head of Scholarship and Professional Learning

+61 3 9919 4618

maxwell.winchester@vu.edu.au

 

Office of the Dean

Name and role title

Contact details

Ms Rechelle Martinez

Head of Operations

+61 3 9919 4884

rechelle.martinez@vu.edu.au

Yildiz Djelal

Operations Coordinator

+61 3 9919 4699

yildiz.djelal@vu.edu.au

Linda Hadchiti

Scheduling Coordinator

+61 3 9919 5918

linda.hadchiti@vu.edu.au

Monica Surace

Appointment Officer

+61 3 9919 4618

monica.surace@vu.edu.au

 

A–Z teaching staff

A

Name

Contact details

Dr Sidney Ada

+61 3 9919 5860

sidney.ada@vu.edu.au

Kirsten (Kirsty) Agius

+61 3 9919 2107

kirsten.agius@vu.edu.au

Dr Andrew Antiohos

+61 3 9919 8158

andrew.antiohos@vu.edu.au

Paul Ashton

+61 3 9919 7095

paul.ashton@vu.edu.au

Mariam Atib

+61 3 9919 2111

mariam.atib@vu.edu.au

Dr Roger Averill

+61 3 9919 5171

roger.averill@vu.edu.au

B

Name

Contact details

Rachael Beatson

rachael.beatson@vu.edu.au

Jessica Bennett

+61 3 9919 5804

jessica.bennett@vu.edu.au

Prof Stephen Bigger

+61 3 9919 2959

stephen.bigger@vu.edu.au

Joseph (Joe) Bovalino

+61 3 9919 5805

joseph.bovalino@vu.edu.au

Peter Bovino

+61 3 9919 5817

peter.bovino@vu.edu.au

Kiernan Box

+61 3 9919 5824

kiernan.box@vu.edu.au

Dr Carmel Brown

+61 3 9919 5599

carmel.brown@vu.edu.au

Dr Michael Burke

+61 3 9919 4238

michael.burke@vu.edu.au

Jessica Burlak

+61 3 9919 5890

jessica.burlak@vu.edu.au

Dr Steven Butcher

+61 3 9919 2558

stephen.butcher@vu.edu.au

Teghan Butler

+61 3 9919 5755

Teghan.Butler@vu.edu.au

C

Name

Contact details

Prue Cambridge

+61 3 9919 2117

prue.cambridge@vu.edu.au

 

Katrina Carey

+61 3 9919 2345

katrina.carey@vu.edu.au

Dr Domenico Caridi

+61 3 9919 8077

domenico.caridi@vu.edu.au

 

Samantha Carmody

samantha.carmody@vu.edu.au

A/Prof Tom Clark

+61 3 9919 2196

tom.clark@vu.edu.au

 

Simone Cliffe

+61 3 9919 4121

simone.cliffe@vu.edu.au

 

Rachael Connor

+61 3 9919 2603

rachael.connor@vu.edu.au

 

Tracey Cooper

+61 3 9919 4502

tracey.cooper@vu.edu.au

 

Kara Dadswell

+61 3 9919 5807

kara.dadswell@vu.edu.au

 

Sam Dang

+61 3 9919 8162

sam.dang@vu.edu.au

Dr Shane Dooley

+61 3 9919 4779

shane.dooley@vu.edu.au

 

Calum Downie

+61 3 9919 5585

calum.downie@vu.edu.au

 

E

Name

 

Contact details

 

Gerard Everett

+61 3 9919 7811

gerard.everett@vu.edu.au

F

Name

Contact details

Dr Neil Fernandes

+61 3 9919 5808

neil.fernandes@vu.edu.au

Roman Fida

+61 3 9919 4015

roman.fida@vu.edu.au

Dr Julie Fletcher

+61 3 9919 5262

julie.fletcher@vu.edu.au

G

Name

Contact details

Tristan Galloway

+61 3 9919 7819

tristan.galloway@vu.edu.au

Dr Effy George

+61 3 9919 8747

effy.george@vu.edu.au

H

Name

Contact details

Sue Habib

+61 3 9919 8438

sue.habib@vu.edu.au

Jackie Hammill

+61 3 9919 5429

jackie.hammill@vu.edu.au

Katherine Harkin

+61 3 9919 1043

katherine.harkin@vu.edu.au

Dr Dale Harris

dale.harris@vu.edu.au

Roderick Herbert

+61 3 9919 1084

roderick.herbert@vu.edu.au

Janelle Hill

+61 3 9919 5811

janelle.hill@vu.edu.au

Dr Jean Hopman

+61 3 9919 5814

jean.hopman@vu.edu.au

Samuel Howe

+61 3 9919 8342

samuel.howe@vu.edu.au

Julie Huf

+61 3 9919 5169

julie.huf@vu.edu.au

Maja Husaric

+61 3 9919 1156

maja.husaric@vu.edu.au

 

I

Name

Contact details

Dr Susan Irvine

susan.irvine@vu.edu.au

J

Name

Contact details

Dr Susan Johnston

+61 3 9919 1392

susanl.johnston@vu.edu.au

K

Name

Contact details

Kostas Kastis

+61 3 99192908

kostas.kastis@vu.edu.au

Kate Kelly

+61 3 9919 5888

kate.kelly@vu.edu.au

Colin King

+61 3 9919 1859

colinj.king@vu.edu.au

Dr Rudi Klein

+61 3 9919 1859 2558

rudi.klein@vu.edu.au

Dr Natalie Kon Yu

+61 3 9919 2036

natalie.konyu@vu.edu.au

Loretta Konjarski

+61 3 9919 5411

loretta.konjarski@vu.edu.au

Bichok Kot

+61 3 9919 5556

bichok.kot@vu.edu.au

L

Name

Contact details

Louise Last

+61 3 9919 5810

louise.last@vu.edu.au

Madeleine Lawler

+61 3 9919 5173

madeleine.lawler@vu.edu.au

Mengbi Li

+61 3 9919 5879

mengbi.li@vu.edu.au

Rui Li

+61 3 9919 5812

rui.li@vu.edu.au

Dr Edward Lock

+61 3 9919 4172

edward.lock@vu.edu.au

Dr Sidney Lung

+61 3 9919 4427

sidney.lung@vu.edu.au

 

M

Name

Contact details

Meagan (Meg) McInnes

+61 3 9919 2170

meagan.mcinnes@vu.edu.au

Alan McWilliams

+61 3 9919 1479

alan.mcwilliams@vu.edu.au

 

Michael Menton

+61 3 9919 5159

michael.menton@vu.edu.au

 

Michael Moldoveanu

+61 3 9919 2139

michael.moldoveanu@vu.edu.au

Kathleen (Kathy) Murphy

+61 3 9919 2126

kathleen.murphy@vu.edu.au

N

Name

Contact details

Dr Thinh Nguyen

+61 3 9919 4281

thinh.nguyen@vu.edu.au

O

Name

Contact details

Steve O'Bryan

+61 3 9919 5806

steven.obryan@vu.edu.au

Dr Lannie O'Keefe

+61 3 9919 2465

lannie.okeefe@vu.edu.ua

Maree Olle

+61 3 9919 4289

maree.olle@vu.edu.au

Dr Daniel Ooi

+61 3 9919 2200

daniel.ooi@vu.edu.au

Dr Bert Oraison

+61 3 9919 5172

bert.oraison@vu.edu.au

Samuel Orchard

+61 3 9919 5816

samuel.orchard@vu.edu.au

P

Name

Contact details

Stella Pardalis

+61 3 9919 1865

stella.pardalis@vu.edu.au

Stephanie Permal

+61 3 9919 1870

stephanie.permal@vu.edu.au

Sunam Pradhan

+61 3 9919 5803

sunam.pradhan@vu.edu.au

Michelle Prawer

+61 3 9919 5815

michelle.prawer@vu.edu.au

 

Q

Name

Contact details

Dr Amy Quayle

+61 3 9919 5892

amy.quayle@vu.edu.au

R

Name

Contact details

Dr Gayathri (Gaya) Rajaraman

+61 3 9919 2132

gayathri.rajaraman@vu.edu.au

Kathleen Raponi

+61 3 9919 1998

kathleen.raponi@vu.edu.au

Darren Reston

+61 3 9919 5966

darren.reston@vu.edu.au

Sam Romijn

+61 3 9919 2676

sam.romijn@vu.edu.au

S

Name

Contact details

Dr Fotios Sidiroglou

+61 3 9919 4913

fotios.sidiroglou@vu.edu.au

Jesse Singh

+61 3 9919 5082

jesse.singh@vu.edu.au

Dr Puspha Sinnayah

+61 3 9919 2262

puspha.sinnayah@vu.edu.au

Ming Song

+61 3 9919 5831

ming.song@vu.edu.au

Gabriele (Gabe) Sorrentino

+61 3 9919 5227

gabriele.sorrentino@vu.edu.au

Andrew Stein

+61 3 9919 4332

andrew.stein@vu.edu.au

Andrea (Ande) Szendroe

+61 3 9919 7075

andrea.szendroe@vu.edu.au

T

Name

Contact details

Grace Tan

+61 3 9919 4685

grace.tan@vu.edu.au

A/Prof Katerina (Kathy) Tangalakis

+61 3 9919 2618

kathy.tangalakis@vu.edu.au

Dr Simon Taylor

+61 3 9919 9527

simon.taylor@vu.edu.au

Dr Nicholas (Nick) Tripodi

+61 3 9919 1603

nicholas.tripodi@vu.edu.au

 

V

Name

Contact details

Kristina (Kris) Vingrys

+61 3 9919 5339

kris.vingrys@vu.edu.au

W

Name

Contact details

Natasha (Tash) Walta

+61 3 9919 2946

natasha.walta@vu.edu.au

Dr Robert Walters

+61 3 9919 5731

robert.walters@vu.edu.au

Dr John Weldon

+61 3 9919 2584

john.weldon@vu.edu.au

Prof Max Winchester

+61 3 9919 4618

maxwell.winchester@vu.edu.au

Dr Rebecca (Bec) Wospil

+61 3 9919 1303

rebecca.wospil@vu.edu.au

Y

Name

Contact details

Caglayan (Charlie) Yasan

+61 3 9919 2131

caglayan.yasan@vu.edu.au

Dr Thomas (Tom) Yeager

+61 3 9919 8103

thomas.yeager@vu.edu.au

Dr Janet Young

 

+61 3 9919 4762

janet.young@vu.edu.au

Z

Name

Contact details

Mahtab Zaerilolmani

 

+61 3 9919 5813

mahtab.zaerilolmani@vu.edu.au

 

Courses

We work closely with all of VU's colleges and schools to deliver the first year of your bachelor degree.

Check the course delivery plans to see the units (subjects) offered in first year.

Throughout the year you'll study one unit at a time over a four week block period.