Student Welfare (Education Minor)

Unit set code: EMISWE | Study level: Undergraduate | Unit set type: Discipline Minor
In person
Footscray Park


Student Welfare is a dynamic sequence that provides you with an understanding of young people and children as they transition into adolescence. We talk about the issues, strategies and options. This unit will improve your practice as a teacher. Schools want teachers with a robust mix of skills given the diversity of children and young people in the public setting. You can undertake the youth work units in a student welfare sequence or as stand-alone electives.

Unit set structure

For a minor study students must complete 48 credit points of study comprising:

  • 48 credit points (4) Specialist Area units
What is a unit?

A full course is made up of several smaller topics or subjects. These are referred to as 'units'.
Most courses have compulsory 'core' units, as well as optional units.


'Credit points' are the value that each unit contributes towards your course.
Most units at VU are worth 12 credit points. You will need to complete the required course credit points to graduate.

As part of a course

This unit set is studied as part of the following course(s):

Search for units, majors & minors