Find contact details for the Sir Zelman Cowen Centre (SZCC) staff.

Name & role Contact details
Katie Miller
Chair, Sir Zelman Cowen Centre
[email protected]
Professor Kathy Laster
+61 3 9919 1842
[email protected]
Professor Anne Wallace
Deputy Director (Acting)
[email protected]
Valerie Wong
Legal Projects Officer
+61 3 9919 2851
[email protected]
Tilly Junker (on leave)
Legal Projects Officer
+61 3 9919 5855
[email protected]
Robin Astley
Digital Content Producer
+61 3 9919 7844
[email protected]
Annie Wohlgehagen
Project Officer
[email protected]
Nima Mohamed
Legal Research and Administration Assistant
+61 3 9919 1823
[email protected]
Rubina Habib
Aspire Project Assistant
[email protected]
David Thomson OAM
+61 3 9919 1810
[email protected]


Patron of the Sir Zelman Cowen Centre

The Governor of Victoria, Her Excellency the Honourable Linda Dessau AC has been the Patron of SZCC since November 2018.

The patronage recognises the Sir Zelman Cowen Centre’s contribution to the Victorian community through its work in law and cultural diversity.

It also acknowledges the success of the Centre's thought leadership regarding access to justice via technological innovation.

The Governor and her husband, Mr Anthony Howard QC, have long supported the work of the Centre, including:

  • hosting the graduation of our Muslim Leaders Education Program at Government House
  • presenting graduation certificates to the participants in our Chinese Legal Executive Education Program
  • formally launching the Centre’s exhibition on Sir Zelman Cowen ‘A Life of Opportunity and Success’, which included an interview with the Governor where she reflects on Sir Zelman Cowen’s life and legacy.
 Her Excellency the Honourable Linda Dessau AC, Governor of Victoria, presents at Cowen Centre event.

Governor of Victoria, Her Excellency the Hon. Linda Dessau AC

Advisory board

Sir Zelman Cowen Centre members

  • Donna Hannan
    Director, Research Services, Victoria University (ex-officio member)
  • Professor Kathy Laster
    Director, Sir Zelman Cowen Centre
  • Annie Wohlgehagen
    Secretary, Sir Zelman Cowen Centre

External members

  • Katie Miller
    Chair, Sir Zelman Cowen Centre
  • Judge John Cain
    State Coroner, County Court and Coroners Court of Victoria
  • Kate Cowen
    Daughter of Sir Zelman Cowen
  • Findlay McRae
    Director, Legal Services, Victoria Police
  • The Hon. Marcia Neave AO
    Former Chair, The Royal Commission into Family Violence (Victoria)
  • Jelena Popovic
    Magistrate, Magistrates' Court of Victoria
  • Robert Stary
    Partner, Stary Norton Halphen Lawyers
  • Brind Zichy-Woinarski QC
    Barrister, Victorian Bar

Katie Miller, Chair, Sir Zelman Cowen Centre Advisory Board

Adjunct Professors

  • Richard Broome AM
  • Professor Arie Freiberg AM
  • Professor Pam O'Connor
  • Mr Chris Roper AM
  • The Hon. Michael Rozenes AO QC
  • Rabbi Professor Daniel Sinclair
  • Professor Simon Smith AM
  • Dr Nik Norzrul Thani
  • Professor Anne Wallace
  • Professor Lisa Webley
  • Professor David Weisbrot AM
  • Professor Peter Zablud AM RFD
  • Professor John Zeleznikow
  • Professor Bruno Zeller

Adjunct Fellows

  • Judith Bornstein
  • Tasneem Chopra OAM
  • Jennifer Ehmann
  • Simon Goodrich
  • Dr Michele Griessmair
  • Andrew Jackomos PSM
  • William Lye OAM QC
  • Madeline Oldfield
  • Dr Nadav Prawer
  • Shannon Salter
  • Adam Slonim
  • David Thomson OAM
  • Zione Walker-Nthenda
  • Dr Sue-Anne Wallace AM