HSK language-proficiency tests

The HSK is an international standardised test to assess the Chinese-language proficiency of non-native speakers (foreigners, Chinese people living overseas and Chinese national minorities). It's aimed primarily at adult Chinese learners.

The HSK is designed and organised by the Hanban Institute, and includes levels across a range of abilities:

  • HSK (Basic)
  • HSK (Beginner - Intermediate)
  • HSK (Advanced).

HSK tests are held across the globe on a regular basis. Candidates who pass the test are awarded the relevant level of Chinese Proficiency Certificate.

The VBCI is an authorised facilitator of the tests.

HSK certificate as a reference

The HSK test scores meet the various demands of different organisations and groups of people.

They are accepted as an indication of Chinese-language ability by the following groups:

  • educational institutions to recruit students, classify students, exempt students from some courses and grant credits
  • employers to employ, train and promote staff
  • Chinese learners to understand and improve their language skills
  • Chinese teaching and training organisations to evaluate teaching standards and effectiveness.

HSK test levels

The tests are conducted at six levels, from beginner to advanced:

  • HSK - Level 1
    Beginners who can understand and use some simple Chinese characters and sentences to communicate.
  • HSK - Level 2
    Beginners who can use Chinese in a simple and direct manner, applying it in a basic fashion in their daily lives.
  • HSK - Level 3
    Beginners to intermediate learners who can use Chinese in their personal lives, studies and work, and can communicate most of their needs during a Chinese tour.
  • HSK - Level 4
    Intermediate learners who can discuss a relatively wide range of topics in Chinese and can communicate with Chinese speakers at a high standard.
  • HSK - Level 5
    Advanced learners who can read Chinese newspapers and magazines, watch Chinese films and can write and deliver a long speech in Chinese.
  • HSK - Level 6
    Advanced learners who can easily understand any information communicated in Chinese and can smoothly express themselves in writing or speech.

HSK test registration & payment

Step 1: Registration

Register at the Hanban Chinese Test website.

Step 2: Payment

Payments are accepted if received during office hours at the Confucius Institute:

Room 1057
Level 10
300 Flinders Street
Victoria University 3000, Melbourne.

Receipts will be given.

All payments must be received by the deadline date to sit the exam.

Step 3: Admission ticket

Print your admission ticket from the Hanban Chinese Test website. The ticket will be available one week before the exam. You will need this to sit the exam.

Test score report

Within three weeks after the test, you can access your test scores online and have your ‘Score Report’ issued by the Hanban Institute.