Research students impress at 3MT heats

Victoria University’s brightest graduate research students have impressed judges and audiences at the recent 3 Minute Thesis qualifications.

The 3MT Competition tests research students' capacity to effectively explain their research in three minutes in appropriate language for an intelligent but non-specialist audience. 

The 19 Victoria University research students competed in the University heats on 12 September for a place in the University final on September 27.

In heat 1 Tea O'Driscoll from the College of Sport and Exercise Science won first place and the People’s Choice award for her talk on physical activity in migrant and refugee communities. In heat 2 Joanne Griggs from the College of Health and Biomedicine won for her presentation on plant extracts for the treatment of chronic disease.

Aida Ghalebeigi and Asaeli Tuibeqa, both from the College of Business, took out the runner up prizes with Asaeli also taking the other People’s Choice award.

Meanwhile Chathuri Piyadasa, Lannie Okeefe, Intan Amin, Firman Bunyamin, Agustinus Februadi and Petra Plencnerova were also chosen by judges for the university’s 3MT final on 27 September for their excellent performances.

Dean of the Graduate Research Centre, Professor Helen Borland, said this year’s presentations had been the highest quality yet since VU began the competition in 2010.

“The standard of presentations this year was fantastic, with every speaker coming in at under 3 minutes and some very interesting research projects being presented with great enthusiasm,” Professor Borland said.

“Even those who did not win or make the final should be proud of their efforts and how they conducted themselves.”

Staff are invited to join the audience at the university 3MT final on Friday 27 September at Footscray Park, room L114 from 2 to 4pm (late arrivals will not be admitted).

The 3MT Trans-Tasman final will be held 18 October at the University of Western Sydney.

The first 3MT was held at the University of Queensland in 2008 and by 2010 had grown to a massive Trans-Tasman competition involving many other universities. 

See all news