Academic Quality and Standards is comprised of two teams:

  • Course Management and Quality Services
  • Work Integrated Learning (WIL).

Course Management & Quality Services

The Course Management and Quality Services team:

  • provides expert advice to colleges regarding course creation, changes, quality assurance and renewal
  • ensures course processes are managed in an accurate and timely manner
  • carries out course monitoring and review
  • provides support for the development and implementation of learning and teaching improvement plans
  • manages and ensures course data quality within internal systems and registers.
Name Role Contact
Deborah Tyler Director, Academic Quality and Standards deborah.tyler@vu.edu.au
+61 3 9919 4310
Sharon Baynes Executive Assistant  sharon.baynes@vu.edu.au
+61 3 9919 9440
Leonie Benson Educational Quality Coordinator leonie.benson@vu.edu.au
+61 3 9919 5478
Bekarra Boothroyd Senior Officer Educational Quality (Course Review) bekarra.boothroyd@vu.edu.au
+61 3 9919 5513
Leisa Franklin Senior Officer Course Governance (Systems) (& College of Arts & Education) leisa.franklin@vu.edu.au
+61 3 9919 5485
Daphne D'Souza Senior Officer Course Governance (College of Arts & Education and College of Law & Justice daphne.dsouza@vu.edu.au
+61 3 9919 2351
Ruth Aitken Senior Officer Course Management (College of Business & Sport and College of Exercise Science) ruth.aitken@vu.edu.au
+61 3 9919 5426
Andrea Cameron Senior Officer Course Management (College of Engineering & Science and College of Health & Biomedicine andrea.cameron@vu.edu.au
+61 3 9919 8515 
+61 407 523 575
Venkat Peteti Senior Officer Course Management venkat.peteti@vu.edu.au
+61 3 9919 4026
Trish Tamburro Course Management Officer (VU College) patrizia.tamburro@vu.edu.au
+61 3 9919 4463  

Work Integrated Learning (WIL)

The Work Integrated Learning team:

  • supports the development of institutional strategies for a wide range of practice-based and professionally oriented learning within higher education, including placements, internships, projects and other activities in conjunction with external partners and clients
  • provides leadership and input into the design, development, implementation and coordination of WIL activities
  • reviews and develops policies and procedures to effectively manage WIL to meet all internal and external obligations.