College staff

Staff in the College of Sport and Exercise Science bring together international teaching and research expertise that is at the forefront of scientific and applied development in the industry. Staff are involved in innovative research projects, teaching programs and industry and community collaborations at the forefront of industry trends.

Staff can be contacted to talk about the courses they teach, their research activities and other partnerships and projects.

In addition, our staff may provide their expertise as:

  • board members
  • coaches
  • advisers
  • editors
  • program and conference organisers and invited guest speakers.

Dean


Dean, Professor Andrew Stewart

Professor Andrew Stewart is the Dean, College of Sport and Exercise Science. His background includes extensive competitive, coaching, scientific, and administrative experiences in high performance sport. Andrew is a former Scotland rugby union representative and has a substantial coaching background in numerous sports.

Andrew’s major sport leadership roles have included:

  • Director of the Scottish Institute of Sports Medicine and Sport Science
  • board member United Kingdom Sports Institute
  • Chair of Great Britain Swimming
  • Chair of the Scottish Commonwealth Games Council Sports Medicine and Sports Science Committee
  • General Manager of High Performance Sport at the Millennium Institute of Sport and Health, New Zealand.

College leadership team

Name and role title Contact details
Professor Andrew Stewart
Dean, College Sport and Exercise

+61 3 9919 5200
andrew.stewart@vu.edu.au

Dr Sharna Spittle
Director of Teaching and Learning (Strategy and Operations)

+61 3 9919 5266
sharna.spittle@vu.edu.au

Dr Nigel Stepto
Director Research Training

+61 3 9919 5416
nigel.stepto@vu.edu.au

Michael Clayton
Manager, Industry Community and Sport Engagement

+61 3 9919 6318
michael.clayton@vu.edu.au

Gladys Britto
College Manager

+61 3 9919 5567
gladys.britto@vu.edu.au

Vishnu Viswambharan
Business Partner

+61 3 9919 5345
vishnu.viswambharan@vu.edu.au

Dr Jacqueline Williams
Diversity and Inclusion Representative
jacqueline.williams@vu.edu.au
+61 3 9919 4025
Dr Brent McDonald
Academic Teaching Staff Representative
brent.mcdonald@vu.edu.au
+61 3 9919 4656

Office of the Dean

Name and role title Contact details
Dominique Lanuto
Executive Assistant to the Dean

+61 3 9919 4432
dominique.lanuto@vu.edu.au

Steve Gauci
Senior Administrative Officer, CSES

+61 3 9919 5006
steve.gauci@vu.edu.au

Maria Romania
Administrative Officer, CSES
maria.romania@vu.edu.au
+61 3 9919 5798

Course and Unit Advisors (CUAs)

Name Contact details
Daniel Crane cses.admin@vu.edu.au
Suruchi Goel cses.admin@vu.edu.au

Book a one-to-one appointment with a Sport & Exercise Science CUA.

Course contacts

List of course chairs.

Physical Education/Sport Coaching/Social & Behavioural Sport Science

Exercise Physiology/Anatomy

Clinical/Rehabilitation

Sport Management

Institute for Health & Sport

Associates and postdoctoral research fellows at the Institute for Health & Sport undertake research and engagement activities in a wide range of health and sport-related fields. Associates are staff who support the Institute's direction and goals either through research or community, government and industry engagement.