Media releases

VU Expert Guide – 2019 Australian Open Tennis

As one of Australia’s leading sport universities, Victoria University has a range of academic experts available to provide insights and comments before and during the 2019 Australian Open, to be held 14–27 January.

The Games Insight Group, a collaboration between Tennis Australia and Victoria University, features a team of experts revolutionising tennis through science and data analysis.

These experts are drawn from three areas:

They can provide win predictions, player performance data, and much more.

VU experts & expertise

Dr Tim Buszard, VU Institute for Health and Sport, Games Insight Group
(03) 9919 4512 or 0431 734 392 or tim.buszard@vu.edu.au

  • Junior tennis
  • Skill acquisition

Dr Marc C-Scott, VU College of Arts and Education
(03) 9919 2920 or 0408 998 971 or marc.c-scott@vu.edu.au

  • Television broadcasting and TV rights
  • Media streaming and video-on-demand

Professor Damian Farrow, VU Institute for Health and Sport, Australian Institute of Sport (AIS) and Game Insight Group
(03) 9919 5001 or 0408 445 701 or damian.farrow@vu.edu.au

  • Player visual/anticipation skills
  • Tennis coaching and talent development
  • Qualities of elite players

Professor Clare Hanlon, VU College of Sport and Exercise Science
(03) 9919 4383 or 0438 953 120 or clare.hanlon@vu.edu.au

  • Girls and women in tennis
  • Women as tennis coaches, officials, administrators, committee members and directors

Dr Stephanie Kovalchik, VU Institute for Health and Sport, Games Insight Group;

(03) 9919 4052 or 0450 509 098 or stephanie.kovalchik@vu.edu.au

  • Tennis analytics
  • Data analysis for player performance

Dr Eric Schwarz, VU College of Sport and Exercise Science
(03) 9919 4435 or 0413 180 561 or eric.schwarz@vu.edu.au

  • Sport business
  • Facility management
  • Sport finance

Professor Ramon Spaaij, VU College of Sport and Exercise Science
(03) 9919 4683 or 0415 629 349 or ramon.spaaij@vu.edu.au

  • Crowd and spectator behaviour
  • Fan culture

For interviews or comments, please contact these experts directly or email media@vu.edu.au for assistance.

Media Contact:
Ann Marie Angebrandt
External media
Phone: 
+61 3 9919 5487 or mobile: +61 401 100 576

See all media releases