Arts & Education staff

Find contact details below for staff in the College of Arts & Education.

Research institutes and centres contact lists:

Staff are listed in discipline and program groups.

College leadership team

Name and role title Contact details
Professor Rob Strathdee
Dean, College of Arts & Education
+61 3 9919 5594
rob.strathdee@vu.edu.au
Associate Professor Anthony Watt
Director, Teaching & Learning
+61 3 9919 4119
anthony.watt@vu.edu.au
Jennifer Curley
College Manager
+61 3 9919 4527
jennifer.curley@vu.edu.au
Dr Sue Dodd
Head of Communication, Culture & Creative Arts
+61 3 9919 2333
sue.dodd@vu.edu.au
Associate Professor Marcelle Cacciattolo
Program group leader – Initial Teacher Education
+61 3 9919 4959
marcelle.cacciattolo@vu.edu.au
Dr Mary-Rose McLaren
Program group leader – Early Childhood and Primary
+61 3 9919 2066
mary-rose.mclaren@vu.edu.au
Professor Robyn Broadbent
Youth, Ongoing & Community Education
+61 3 9919 4861
robyn.broadbent@vu.edu.au

Office of the Dean

Name and role title Contact details
Marlene Alvares
Administrative Officer
+61 3 9919 5219
marlene.alvares@vu.edu.au
Leonie Beaton
Executive Assistant
+61 3 9919 7157
leonie.beaton@vu.edu.au
Irene Brett
Manager, Course Governance and Planning
+61 3 9919 2192
irene.brett@vu.edu.au
Jennifer Curley
College Manager
+61 3 9919 4527
jennifer.curley@vu.edu.au
Mirjana Drvoderic
Senior Administrative Officer
+61 3 9919 7658
mirjana.drvoderic@vu.edu.au
Teah Farrugia
Senior Administrative Officer
+61 3 9919 2240
teah.farrugia@vu.edu.au
Hima Kapoor
Administrative Officer
+61 3 9919 2186
hima.kapoor@vu.edu.au

Course & unit administrators

Name and role title Contact details
Suruchi Goel
Arts Course & Unit Administrator
+61 3 9919 6100
cua.coae@vu.edu.au
Mark Falconer
Education Course & Unit Administrator
​+61 3 9919 6100
cua.coae@vu.edu.au
Sophie Burton
Education Course & Unit Administrator
+61 3 9919 6100
cua.coae@vu.edu.au
Denise Ciappara
Education Course & Unit Administrator
+61 3 9919 2081
cua.coae@vu.edu.au

Arts & Humanities

Head of Discipline: Dr Sue Dodd
Contact: +61 3 9919 2333 | sue.dodd@vu.edu.au

Name and role title Contact details
Gregory Aronson
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 2368
greg.aronson@vu.edu.au
Dr Robert Bell
Lecturer
Music Coordinator
+61 3 9919 2359
robert.bell@vu.edu.au
Paul Bronson
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 4863
paul.bronson@vu.edu.au
Dr Megan Campbell
Lecturer
Visual Arts Coordinator
+61 3 9919 2137
megan.campbell@vu.edu.au
Marc C-Scott
Lecturer and Chair of Screen Media
+61 3 9919 2920
marc.c-scott@vu.edu.au
Dr Sue Dodd
Lecturer
Head of Discipline
+61 3 9919 2333
sue.dodd@vu.edu.au
Dr Natasha Dwyer
Senior Lecturer and Chair of Digital Media
+61 3 9919 4754
natasha.dwyer@vu.edu.au
Dr Charlotte Fabiansson
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 4447
charlotte.fabiansson@vu.edu.au
Dr Dianne Hall
Lecturer
History Coordinator
+61 3 9919 2778
dianne.hall@vu.edu.au
Ilya Kerig
Media Officer
+61 3 9919 2496
ilya.kerig@vu.edu.au
Dr Natalie Kon-yu
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 2036
natalie.konyu@vu.edu.au
Dr Jenny Lee
Senior Lecturer
+61 3 9919 2302
jenny.lee@vu.edu.au
Dr Nicole Oke
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 4751
nicole.oke@vu.edu.au

Professor Rob Pascoe
Lecturer

+61 3 9919 5508
robert.pascoe@vu.edu.au
David Redknap
Media Officer
+61 3 9919 2183
david.redknap@vu.edu.au
Dr Karina Smith
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 2469
karina.smith@vu.edu.au
Dr Ian Syson
Lecturer
Literary Studies Coordinator
+61 3 9919 2106
ian.syson@vu.edu.au

Early Childhood & Primary

Program group leaders

Name and role title Contact details
Anthony Balla
Academic Teaching Scholar
+61 3 9919 4003
anthony.balla@vu.edu.au
Adrian Berenger
Academic Teaching Scholar
+61 3 9919 4094
adrian.berenger@vu.edu.au
Professor Mindy Blaise
Professor
+61 3 9919 2112
mindy.blaise@vu.edu.au
Kelly Boucher
Academic Teaching Scholar
+61 3 9919 2596
kelly.boucher@vu.edu.au
Jeanette Fielding
Partnership support coordinator & teacher
jeanette.fielding@vu.edu.au
Dr Catherine Hamm
Lecturer & Course Adviser:
+61 3 9919 2018
catherine.hamm@vu.edu.au
Jo Hopkins
Partnership support coordinator & teacher
+61 3 9919 2765
joanne.hopkins@vu.edu.au
Dr Jeanne Iorio
Senior Lecturer & Course Adviser:
+61 3 9919 2181
jeanne.iorio@vu.edu.au
Christin McCormick
Partnership support coordinator & teacher
+61 3 9919 2205
christin.mccormick@vu.edu.au

Dr Mary-Rose McLaren
Program group leader
Course Adviser

+61 3 9919 2066
mary-rose.mclaren@vu.edu.au
Amanda Muscat
Academic Teaching Scholar
+61 3 9919 2374
amanda.muscat@vu.edu.au
Nathalie Nehma
Academic Teaching Scholar
+61 3 9919 8732
nathalie.nehma@vu.edu.au
Karen Stammers
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 4042
karen.stammers@vu.edu.au

Initial Teacher Education

Program group leaders

Name and role title Contact details
Samantha Bothe
Academic Teaching Scholar
+61 3 9919 4258
samantha.bothe@vu.edu.au
Associate Professor Marcelle Cacciattolo
Teacher education for diversity
+61 3 9919 5903
marcelle.cacciattolo@vu.edu.au
Dr Efrat Eilam
Senior Lecturer
+61 3 9919 2975
efrat.eilam@vu.edu.au
Robert Ford
Academic Teaching Scholar
+61 3 9919 8471
robert.ford@vu.edu.au
Hugh Jones
Partnership support coordinator & teacher
hugh.jones@vu.edu.au
Dr Claire Kelly
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 9210
claire.kelly@vu.edu.au
Dr Brian Mundy
Academic Teaching Scholar
+61 3 9919 2027
brian.mundy@vu.edu.au
Ligia Pelosi
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 4582
ligia.pelosi@vu.edu.au
Peta Oates
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 5283
peta.oates@vu.edu.au
Clive Quick
Partnership support coordinator & teacher
clive.quick@vu.edu.au
Dr Oksana Razoumova
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 4354
oksana.razoumova@vu.edu.au
Dr Sarah Tartakover
Lecturer
sarah.tartakover@vu.edu.au
Simon Taylor
Academic Teaching Scholar
+61 3 9919 4589
simonj.taylor@vu.edu.au
Dr Peter Thomas
Lecturer and first year champion
+61 3 9919 2023
peter.thomas@vu.edu.au
Dr Mark Vicars
Associate Professor
+61 3 9919 2052
mark.vicars@vu.edu.au

Associate Professor Anthony Watt
Director, Learning & Teaching (Networks & Student Experience)

+61 3 9919 4119
anthony.watt@vu.edu.au
Dr Mary Weaven
Senior Lecturer
+61 3 9919 9510
mary.weaven@vu.edu.au
Erin Wilson +61 3 9919 5530
erin.wilson@vu.edu.au
Dr Helen Widdop-Quinton
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 4235
helen.widdop-quinton@vu.edu.au
Dr Karen (Zali) Yager
Senior Lecturer & Course Adviser:
+61 9919 4555
zali.yager@vu.edu.au

Youth, Ongoing & Community Education

Program group leader

Name and role title Contact details
Dr Alison Baker
Senior Lecturer
+61 3 9919 4868
alison.baker@vu.edu.au
Dr Dorothy Bottrell
Senior Lecturer
+61 3 9919 1010
dorothy.bottrell@vu.edu.au

Professor Robyn Broadbent
Program group leader

+61 3 9919 4861
robyn.broadbent@vu.edu.au
Tracey Cooper
Academic Teaching Scholar
+61 3 9919 4502
tracey.cooper@vu.edu.au
Tim Corney
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 5842
tim.corney@vu.edu.au
Annie Feith
Field Education Coordinator

+61 3 9919 5451
annie.feith@vu.edu.au

Lisa Giufre
Placement Coordinator – International & Community Development
lisa.giufre@vu.edu.au
Jane Hickey
Academic Teaching Scholar
+61 3 9919 8944
jane.hickey@vu.edu.au
Gerard Hogan
Academic Teaching Teacher
+61 3 9919 5406
gerard.hogan@vu.edu.au
Mat Jakobi
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 5565
mat.jakobi@vu.edu.au
Dr Siew-Fang Law
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 5224
siewfang.law@vu.edu.au
Dr John Martino
Senior Lecturer
+61 3 9919 2026
john.martino@vu.edu.au
Martti Martinson
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 4841
martti.martinson@vu.edu.au
Dr Charles Mphande
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 4755
charles.mphande@vu.edu.au
Paul Russell
Academic Teaching Scholar
+61 3 9919 4480
paul.russell@vu.edu.au
Dr Mark Selkrig
Senior Lecturer
+61 3 9919 2979
mark.selkrig@vu.edu.au

Partnerships office

Name and role title Contact details
Lani Abarquez
Senior Partnerships Officer
+61 3 9919 7515
lani.abarquez@vu.edu.au
Sharon Ciantar
Partnerships Officer
+61 3 9919 7591
sharon.ciantar@vu.edu.au
Fiona Goudie
Partnerships Administrator
+61 3 9919 2022
fiona.goudie@vu.edu.au
Anne McMillan
Senior Partnerships Officer
+61 3 9919 7494
anne.mcmillan@vu.edu.au
Trudy Turner
Partnerships Projects Coordinator
+61 3 9919 5971
trudy.turner@vu.edu.au
Maree Wheelens
Head of Project Partnerships
+61 3 9919 5566
maree.wheelens@vu.edu.au

Partnership support coordinators

Name and role title Contact details
Jeanette Fielding
Partnership support coordinator & teacher
jeanette.fielding@vu.edu.au
Jo Hopkins
Partnership support coordinator & teacher
+61 3 9919 2765
joanne.hopkins@vu.edu.au
Hugh Jones
Partnership support coordinator & teacher
hugh.jones@vu.edu.au
Hanna Maxwell
Partnership support coordinator & teacher
+61 3 9919 2352
hanna.maxwell@vu.edu.au
Christin McCormick
Partnership support coordinator & teacher
+61 3 9919 2205
christin.mccormick@vu.edu.au
Clive Quick
Partnership support coordinator & teacher
clive.quick@vu.edu.au
Mel Vella
Partnership support coordinator & teacher
+61 3 9919 5562
mel.vella@vu.edu.au

 

Honorary appointments

Honorary, adjunct & visiting appointments

Dr Paul Adams
Honorary Fellow
paul.adams@vu.edu.au
Dr Martin Andrew
Honorary Fellow
martin.andrew@vu.edu.au
Dr Christine Babinskas
Honorary Fellow
christine.babinskas@vu.edu.au
Jehonathan Ben
Adjunct Fellow
jehonathan.ben@vu.edu.au
Dr Paola Bilbrough
Honorary Fellow
paola.bilbrough@vu.edu.au
Marie Brennan
Honorary Professor
marie.brennan@vu.edu.au
Dr Peter Burridge
Honorary Fellow
peter.burridge@vu.edu.au
Dr Caroline Clark
Honorary Fellow
caroline.clark@vu.edu.au
Berwyn Clayton
Emeritus Professor
berwyn.clayton@vu.edu.au
Robert De Young
Honorary Fellow
robert.deyoung@vu.edu.au
Phillip Deery
Professor
phillip.deery@vu.edu.au
Dr Elizabeth Dempster
Honorary Fellow
+61 3 9919 4963
elizabeth.dempster@vu.edu.au
Professor Pat Drake
Emeritus Professor
+61 3 9919 2609
pat.drake@vu.edu.au
Dr Jacques Duff
Adjunct Fellow
jacques.duff@vu.edu.au
William Eckersley
Associate Professor
bill.eckersley@vu.edu.au
Dr Gordon Emmerson
Adjunct Fellow
gordon.emmerson@vu.edu.au
Professor Cynthia Fan
Honorary Professor
cynthia.fan@vu.edu.au
Ms Susan Ferguson
Honorary Fellow
susan.ferguson@vu.edu.au
Professor Michael Hamel-Green
Emeritus Professor

michael.hamel-green@vu.edu.au

Dr Gwen Gilmore
Honorary Fellow
gwen.gilmore@vu.edu.au
Dr Enza Gandolfo
Honorary Professor
enza.gandolfo@vu.edu.au
Professor Michele Grossman
Honorary Professor, Cultural Studies
michele.grossman@vu.edu.au
Dr Michael Hallpike
Honorary Fellow
michael.hallpike@vu.edu.au
Dr Helen Hill
Honorary Fellow
+61 3 9919 4567
helen.hill@vu.edu.au
Dr Neil Hooley
Honorary Fellow
neil.hooley@vu.edu.au
Dr Michael Hyde
Honorary Fellow
+61 3 9919 2346
michael.hyde@vu.edu.au
Dr Syed Javed
Honorary Fellow
syed.javed@vu.edu.au
Associate Professor Kim Keamy
Honorary Professor
kim.keamy@vu.edu.au
Dr David Kelman
Adjunct Fellow
david.kelman@vu.edu.au
Hak Hiang (Stanley) Koh
Adjunct Fellow
stanley.koh@vu.edu.au
Mr Stephen Knowles
Honorary Fellow
steve.knowles@vu.edu.au
Tony Kruger
Adjunct Associate Professor
tony.kruger@vu.edu.au
Grace Langton
Honorary Fellow
grace.langton@vu.edu.au
Dr Debora Lipson
Honorary Fellow
debora.lipson@vu.edu.au
Lawrence Mahon
Honorary Fellow
lawry.mahon@vu.edu.au
Associate Professor Marg Malloch
Honorary Professor
marg.malloch@vu.edu.au
Professor Catherine Manathunga
Honorary Professor
catherine.manathunga@vu.edu.au
Mr Martti Martinson
Honorary Fellow
martti.martinson@vu.edu.au
Professor David McCallum
Emeritus Professor
david.mccallum@vu.edu.au
Dr Christopher McConville
Honorary Fellow
chris.mcconville@vu.edu.au
Professor Tarquam McKenna
Emeritus Professor
tarquam.mckenna@vu.edu.au
Dr John McLaren
Emeritus Professor
john.mclaren@vu.edu.au
Dr Tuan Nguyen
Honorary Fellow
tuan.nguyen@vu.edu.au
Dr Hemant Ojha
Visiting Fellow
hemant.ojha@vu.edu.au
Dr Ian Robinson
Adjunct Fellow
ian.robinson@vu.edu.au
Dr Kirsten Sadler
Honorary Fellow
kirsten.sadler@vu.edu.au
Dr Stefan Schutt
Honorary Fellow
stefan.schutt@vu.edu.au
Associate Professor Chandravandan Shah
Adjunct Associate Professor
chandravandan.shah@vu.edu.au
Associate Professor Julie Stephens
Honorary Professor
+61 3 9919 4442
julie.stephens@vu.edu.au
Dr Mark Stevenson
Honorary Fellow
+61 3 9919 4652
mark.stevenson@vu.edu.au
Professor Kitty te Riele
Honorary Professor
+61 3 99194132
kitty.teriele@vu.edu.au
Ron Toomey
Emeritus Professor
ron.toomey@vu.edu.au
Dr Dung Tran
Honorary Fellow
dung.tran1@vu.edu.au
Dr John Tully
Honorary Professor
+61 3 9919 4172
john.tully@vu.edu.au
Dr Scott Welsh
Honorary Fellow
scott.welsh@vu.edu.au
Dr Lewis Zipin
Honorary Fellow
lew.zipin@vu.edu.au